Ptak withstands Habsburg pressure for maiden victory

Formula V8 Silverstone July 22nd ©Paul Davies Photography NO UNAUTHORISED USE

Antoni Ptak took the lead into the first turn and was never headed as he claimed his maiden EuroFormula Open victory at Silverstone on Sunday.

The Polish driver jumped ahead of pole sitter Colton Herta on the run down to Copse Corner, with the RP Motorsport driver then robustly holding off the challenge of Ferdinand Habsburg into Maggots.

Ptak withstood the challenge of Habsburg throughout the race, with the duo finishing 0.590 seconds apart, although the biggest talking point of the race happened behind the leading pairing.

Having made a slow getaway, Herta was running third ahead of championship leader Leonardo Pulcini, only for the duo to clash at Abbey on lap three as the duo battled with Habsburg, with the Carlin driver being forced to retire in the pits, while the Campos Racing made two trips to the pit lane for repairs before finishing seventeenth and last.

The incident cost Pulcini his record of finishing either first or second in every race this season, and allowed Habsburg to close the gap in the championship to 36 points at the midway part of the season.

Damiano Fioravanti made it two RP Motorsport entries on the podium in third, with his team-mates Enaam Ahmed and Kantadhee Kusiri finishing fourth and fifth making it an excellent day for the team.

Diego Menchaca secured sixth for Campos Racing ahead of Igor Walilko of Fortec Motorsports, with Ye Hongli securing his first ever EuroFormula Open points finish with eighth for BVM Racing.

Julio Moreno took ninth for Campos Racing, while Vladimir Atoev claimed the final point for Teo Martin Motorsport after capitalising on a mistake by Carlin’s Ameya Vaidyanathan, who was forced to settle for eleventh as a result.

Silverstone Race 2 Result

11Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport28:49.187
262Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School+0.590
33Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+6.135
44Enaam AhmedGBRRP Motorsport+7.510
52Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport+12.311
67Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+13.434
737Igor WalilkoPOLFortec Motorsports+14.632
821Ye HongliCHNBVM Racing+24.513
96Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing+25.081
1012Vladimir AtoevRUSTeo Martin Motorsport+26.788
1151Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin+28.623
125Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport+29.144
1347Keyvan AndresGERCarlin+30.314
1418Daniele CazzanigaITADAV Racing+31.658
1572Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport+32.364
169Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing+43.108
178Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing+1:14.926
RET98Colton HertaUSACarlinRetired