Formula E

Jaguar narrow down potential drivers to four

1 Mins read

Jaguar Formula E have narrowed down their list of potential drivers to four ahead of this week’s test at Donington Park.

A Jaguar spokesperson confirmed that Alex Lynn, Mitch Evans, Harry Tincknell and Adam Carroll will all be evaluated over the coming few days.

While it is rumoured that Carroll has already been signed for a race seat, the other three are thought to be in a shootout for the final position.

If true, it will mean a long-earned break for Carroll in Formula E. The Northern Irishman is already believed to have tested the Jaguar racer, in addition to having tested for Mahindra Racing and NextEV TCR.

He was also lined up to replace Nick Heidfeld, Jean-Eric Vergne and Antonio Felix da Costa at various points last season, only for the opportunity to fall through at the last minute on each occasion.

Alex Lynn is in the running due to his links with Williams, whose engineering division are helping run the Jaguar entry.

He recently commented that he would not be willing to drive a third season in GP2, and should he miss out on an F1 race seat Formula E might be a useful back-up.

Mitch Evans is also racing in GP2 this season, and is currently sitting one place above Lynn in the standings with one race win to his name.

However having started racing in the series in 2013, and with only a fourth place finish to show for it, it is time for the New Zealander to move on.

Tincknell will be the outside bet for the drive having not raced in a single-seater since driving for Carlin in Formula 3 back in 2013.

Since then he has turned his hand to endurance racing with some impressive performances thus far.

The official driver announcement will happen at the launch of the Jaguar team after the final day of testing, on the eighth of September.

679 posts

About author
Formula E writer for TCF since 2015-16 and fascinated by all things electric.
Related posts
Formula E

Rowland Fastest in Opening Diriyah Practice as Defending Champion de Vries Crashes

2 Mins read
Oliver Rowland was quickest in practice for the Diriyah E-Prix on Thursday, while defending champion Nyck de Vries ended in the wall early on.
Formula E

Norman Nato, Tom Dillmann Announced as Jaguar TCS Racing as Reserve Drivers

2 Mins read
Jaguar TCS Racing will have two reserve drivers for the 2021/22 Formula E season, with Tom Dillmann being joined by Norman Nato.
Formula E

Porsche Taycan Unveiled as New Safety Car for Season Eight of FIA Formula E

1 Mins read
The new Formula E safety car has been revealed as the Porsche Taycan Turbo S, which will begin its duties in the Diriyah E-Prix later this month.