Formula 2

De Vries concludes F2 tests on top in Bahrain

1 Mins read
Nyck de Vries was quickest on the final day of pre-season testing in Bahrain - Credit: Malcolm Griffiths/FIA Formula 2

The pre-season testing programme for the FIA Formula 2 Championship came to a conclusion on Friday, and McLaren Junior Nyck de Vries set the fastest time in both sessions of day three at the Bahrain International Circuit.

De Vries set a best time of 1:40.583 during the morning session at Sakhir, which came within the best time of the whole week set by Nicholas Latifi on Thursday, while the Rapax driver also headed the afternoon session with a best time of 1:41.888, which again saw the majority of track time focused on longer runs and race simulations.

Oliver Rowland was just 0.007 seconds down on de Vries in the morning session, with the DAMS driver just ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Nobuharu Matsushita, with Latifi fourth in the second DAMS entry.

Ferrari Driver Academy duo Antonio Fuoco and Charles Leclerc were fifth and seventh respectively for reigning Teams’ champions Prema Racing, either side of the second ART of Alexander Albon, while Pertamina Arden duo Norman Nato and Sean Gelael were eighth and ninth, with Artem Markelov completing the top ten for Russian Time.

The slower afternoon session saw de Vries edge out team-mate Johnny Cecotto Jr by 0.026 seconds, with Nato third ahead of Trident’s Nabil Jeffri and MP Motorsport’s Sergio Sette Câmara.

Rowland was sixth ahead of fellow Briton Jordan King, also of MP Motorsport, with Markelov, Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung and Latifi ending the session inside the top ten.

The season now gets underway at the same circuit in two weeks time.

Oliver Rowland was just 0.007 seconds off the best time of the day for DAMS on Friday – Credit: Malcolm Griffiths/FIA Formula 2

Bahrain International Circuit Test Day 3 Result

[table id=1831 /]

Related posts
Formula 2

Samaia and Beckmann make up Charouz F2 team

2 Mins read
Beckmann makes his debut in Formula 2 while Samaia prepares for his second year in the series.
Formula 2Formula 3

Alpine announce academy drivers; Zhou, Lundgaard stay put, Martins & Collet in F3 with MP

2 Mins read
A big chunk of the Formula 2 and 3 grids have been unveiled as Alpine announce their driver academy for 2021.
Formula 2

Formula Regional Champion Petecof joins Formula 2 with Campos

2 Mins read
One of Adrián Campos’ final wishes has been granted. Gianluca Petecof will race for Campos in Formula 2 in 2021.

Leave a Reply