Rivett Targets Clio Cup Title Number Four With WDE

The most successful driver in Renault UK Clio Cup history Paul Rivett will once again be contesting the BTCC support series this season with WDE Motorsport.

The title-winner in 2002, 2004 and 2011, Rivett enters his eleventh full Clio campaign determined to add a fourth championship win to his résumé.

Rivett will continue a partnership with WDE Motorsport that began back in 2014, with the 38 year old working as team manager alongside his driving role.

“I’m hungrier than ever and want nothing more than my fourth title. The only way I’ll accept not winning it this year is if one of my team-mates beats me,” said Rivett.

“As a team we’ve put so much hard work in behind the scenes these last three years and had it not been for some cruel luck mid-season last year we’d have been right in the hunt at the last round. WDE Motorsport now really are in a great place.”

Rivett is the team’s third confirmed driver for 2017, joining new recruits Dan Zelos and Paul Streather, who switched from Ciceley and Finesse respectively.

Team principal Wayne Eason added: “To have Paul – the most successful driver in UK Clio Cup history – with us once more is an absolute honour.

“With Paul Streather and Dan Zelos also on board we have an absolutely cracking line-up of drivers and 2017 promises to the most exciting yet for WDE Motorsport.

“We are 100 per cent going for not only race wins and the drivers’ title but also the teams’ title. We want the lot.”

As well as Rivett, Graham Field has also announced his return to the championship with reigning champions JamSport Racing.

The 57 year old has competed on and off in the series since 2012, and will once again contest the Masters Cup category, having taken a maiden class win at Oulton Park in 2015.

“I’m no spring chicken but, just as I benefited from having Ant Whorton-Eales as a team-mate in 2016,” Field commented.

“A win or two in the Masters Cup would be lovely, but my main aim as always will be to improve my own personal performance.

“I love the competition the UK Clio Cup provides and I’ve seen some big gains in both my qualifying and overall race pace these past two seasons. I’m really determined to keep that going in 2017.”


Provisional 2017 Renault UK Clio Cup Entry List:

WDE Motorsport – Paul Rivett, Paul Streather, Dan Zelos

Team Pyro – Josh Price, Ollie Pidgley, Jack McCarthy

Ciceley Motorsport – Max Coates, Sam Osborne, Luke Reade

JamSport Racing – Nathan Harrison, Lucas Orrock, Aaron Thompson, Graham Field

Westbourne Motorsport – James Dorlin, Myles Collins

PP Motorsport – James Colburn