Dixon leads Hunter-Reay in final Long Beach practice

1 Mins read
Credit: Richard Dowdy / IndyCar

Scott Dixon set the fastest practice time in final practice ahead of qualifying for the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, albeit by just 0.002 seconds from Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Overnight showers meant drivers had to search for grip once again around the legendary street circuit, but Dixon put his Chip Ganassi Racing machine to the top of the timing sheets with his best lap so far of the weekend of 1:07.1348s, albeit slightly down on the overall best of the weekend so far set by Will Power on Friday.

Hunter-Reay finished second fastest for Andretti Autosport ahead of defending Long Beach race winner Simon Pagenaud, who was the leading Team Penske driver in third, just 0.0365 seconds down on Dixon’s time.

The top six were all separated by less than one-tenth of a second, with James Hinchcliffe ending fourth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport ahead of Takuma Sato of Andretti Autosport and Graham Rahal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Friday pacesetter Power was seventh for Penske ahead of team-mate Josef Newgarden, whilst Sebastien Bourdais was ninth for Dale Coyne Racing despite stalling his car in between turns two and three following damage to his front wing, with the Frenchman recovering to the pits slowly whilst red flags flew.

The top ten was completed by Andretti Herta Autosport’s Alexander Rossi, who ended just 0.2575 seconds down on Dixon. In fact, such was the closeness of the field, twenty of the twenty one drivers were within one second of the pace, with Carlos Muñoz the only one outside one second, albeit by just 0.0338 seconds!

Another electrical issue affected Chip Ganassi Racing during the session, but unlike on Friday when it was Max Chilton who was affected, this time it was Tony Kanaan, who only managed five laps overall and finished down in fifteenth.

Long Beach Free Practice 3 Result

[table id=1846 /]

Related posts

Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Rescheduled due to COVID-19 Concerns

1 Mins read
Due to ongoing concerns over the COVID-19 pandemic, the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg has been rescheduled.

Aldo Andretti passes away at 80

2 Mins read
Aldo Andretti, twin brother of Mario Andretti and father of John, has died at the age of 80.
Formula 1IndyCar

Pietro Fittipaldi Hoping to Return to F1 as Race Driver ‘One Day’ but Aiming for 2021 IndyCar Ride

2 Mins read
Pietro Fittipaldi wants to race in the NTT IndyCar Series in 2021 alongside remaining with the Haas F1 Team as reserve driver.

Leave a Reply