Castroneves leads Carb Day practice at Indianapolis

Helio Castroneves was fastest on Carb Day - Credit: Forrest Mellott / IndyCar

The final hour of practice ahead of the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 took place on Friday, with the traditionally Carb Day running, and it was Helio Castroneves who will go into the race with a little momentum after the veteran Brazilian set the fastest time of the day.

The Team Penske driver was able to set a lap around the 2.5-mile oval at 227.377mph, albeit with a tow, but Castroneves ended up ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Takuma Sato and Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan.

Indianapolis 500 pole sitter Scott Dixon was fourth fastest, setting a lap of 226.682mph, just 0.073mph faster than Fernando Alonso, who completed 32 laps ahead of his maiden oval race for McLaren Honda Andretti.

Graham Rahal was sixth for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing ahead of defending Indy 500 champion Alexander Rossi of Andretti Herta Autosport, while the top ten was rounded out by Team Penske duo Josef Newgarden and Juan Pablo Montoya, and by Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay.

All thirty-three drivers completed laps, with 960 laps being completed across the 60 minutes of the session, but for James Hinchcliffe, his session appeared to be cut short by a Honda engine failure on his Schmidt Peterson Motorsport machine. The Canadian was fourteenth quickest on Friday, but it was the ninth such failure for Honda in the past ten days.

Takuma Sato (26) ended up second fastest, whilst Sebastien Bourdais’ replacement James Davison (18) got some decent running in – Credit: Jim Haines / IndyCar

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Carb Day Practice Result

13Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske227.377mph
226Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport226.802mph
310Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing226.757mph
49Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing226.685mph
529Fernando AlonsoESPMcLaren Honda Andretti226.608mph
615Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing226.386mph
798Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport226.355mph
82Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske226.203mph
922Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske226.187mph
1028Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport225.903mph
1112Will PowerAUSTeam Penske225.848mph
127Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports225.691mph
134Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises225.557mph
145James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports225.082mph
151Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske225.079mph
1618James DavisonAUSDale Coyne Racing225.018mph
1716Oriol ServiaESPRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing224.969mph
1824Sage KaramUSADreyer & Reinbold Racing224.852mph
1927Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport224.793mph
2020Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing224.630mph
218Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing224.625mph
2277Jay HowardGBRSchmidt Peterson Motorsports224.541mph
2319Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing224.526mph
2483Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing224.372mph
2521JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing224.347mph
2614Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises223.935mph
2788Gabby ChavesUSAHarding Racing223.688mph
2850Jack HarveyGBRMichael Shank Racing with Andretti Autosport223.222mph
2963Pippa MannGBRDale Coyne Racing223.062mph
3040Zach VeachUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises222.579mph
3111Spencer PigotUSAJuncos Racing221.732mph
3244Buddy LazierUSALazier Partners Racing221.397mph
3317Sebastian SaavedraCOLJuncos Racing221.197mph