Jones hits 233mph in final practice before Final Qualifying

Ed Jones was fastest in practice on Sunday, hitting 223.008mph - Credit: Jim Haines / IndyCar

Ed Jones hit 233mph to top the final practice session before drivers take to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway again for their second qualifying efforts on Sunday.

The Dale Coyne Racing driver, who narrowly missed out on advancing to the pole position shootout on Saturday, finishing an impressive tenth fastest, set a best lap of 233.008mph to lead the way as twenty-two cars took to the 2.5-mile oval.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was second fastest for Andretti Autosport, setting a lap at 232.458mph, with Graham Rahal third fastest for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing at 231.733mph.

Juan Pablo Montoya placed fourth for Team Penske ahead of Jack Harvey of Michael Shank Racing with Andretti Autosport, while Fernando Alonso was the quickest of those who will be gunning for pole position later this evening for McLaren Honda Andretti in sixth.

Team Penske drivers finished seventh, eighth and tenth for Josef Newgarden, Simon Pagenaud and Will Power respectively, with Oriol Servia getting amongst them in ninth for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

None of the Chip Ganassi Racing or Schmidt Peterson Motorsport drivers took to the track, nor did either Ed Carpenter or JR Hildebrand of Ed Carpenter Racing, meaning four of the top nine drivers from Saturday did not participate in the session.

Sage Karam was the other driver not to take part in the session for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, while James Davison is not expected on track until at least Monday as Dale Coyne Racing build its spare car following Sebastien Bourdais’ horror crash on Saturday.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Pole Day Practice Result

119Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing233.008mph
228Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport232.458mph
315Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing231.733mph
422Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske231.673mph
550Jack HarveyGBRMichael Shank Racing with Andretti Autosport231.433mph
629Fernando AlonsoESPMcLaren Honda Andretti231.317mph
72Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske231.178mph
81Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske231.013mph
916Oriol ServiaESPRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing230.997mph
1012Will PowerAUSTeam Penske230.981mph
1127Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport230.796mph
123Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske230.566mph
1398Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport230.489mph
1488Gabby ChavesUSAHarding Racing229.033mph
1517Sebastian SaavedraCOLJuncos Racing227.889mph
1626Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport227.532mph
1714Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises227.067mph
184Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises226.921mph
1963Pippa MannGBRDale Coyne Racing226.744mph
2011Spencer PigotUSAJuncos Racing226.098mph
2144Buddy LazierUSALazier Partners Racing225.198mph
2240Zach VeachUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises212.799mph