Power leads Castroneves on second day of Indy 500 practice

Will Power was fastest on day two at IMS from Penske team-mate Helio Castroneves - Credit: Mike Harding / IndyCar

Team Penske finished first and second on the second day of practice for the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 on Tuesday, with Will Power edging out Helio Castroneves by the slenderest of margins.

Power completed 71 laps on Tuesday and set the best lap of the day at 224.656mph, with Castroneves the only other driver above the 224mph mark, the Brazilian setting a lap at 224.287mph.

Gabby Chaves was an encouraging third fastest for debutants Harding Racing, with the young American charger getting a decent amount of running in around the 2.5-mile oval after completing just six laps on Monday. Chaves was just under the 224mph marker at 223.991mph, just ahead of former Indy 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, who was the leading of the Andretti Autosport sextet.

Sage Karam was fifth fastest for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing ahead of Takuma Sato of Andretti Autosport, with Mikhail Aleshin seventh for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport ahead of reigning series champion Simon Pagenaud, JR Hildebrand and Josef Newgarden.

Ed Carpenter was fastest in the no-tow laps for Ed Carpenter Racing ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Charlie Kimball and Hildebrand, with Power fourth ahead of Scott Dixon.

Both Zach Veach and Jack Harvey completed their Rookie Orientation Programmes on Tuesday, ensuring they can compete in their first Indy 500’s in 2017, while Fernando Alonso was the busiest driver on the day, completing 117 laps around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, setting the twenty-fourth fastest time of the day as the McLaren Honda Andretti driver worked through an extensive programme that involved running in traffic for the first time.

The day was pretty much incident free, with caution flags only coming out for debris and track inspections.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Practice 2 Results

112Will PowerAUSTeam Penske40.0613s
23Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske40.1271s
388Gabby ChavesUSAHarding Racing40.1802s
428Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport40.1857s
524Sage KaramUSADreyer & Reinbold Racing40.2430s
626Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport40.2584s
77Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.2736s
81Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske40.2829s
921JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.2952s
102Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske40.3305s
1120Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.3874s
1214Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises40.3997s
139Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing40.4403s
1498Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport40.4530s
1519Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing40.4948s
1618Sebastien BourdaisFRADale Coyne Racing40.4952s
1710Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing40.5481s
1816Oriol ServiaESPRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing40.5550s
1983Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing40.5792s
2015Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing40.5884s
2122Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske40.5961s
2240Zach VeachUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises40.6084s
238Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing40.6818s
2429Fernando AlonsoESPMcLaren Honda Andretti40.7187s
2527Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport40.7220s
2611Spencer PigotUSAJuncos Racing40.7922s
2717Sebastian SaavedraCOLJuncos Racing40.8554s
284Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises40.8565s
295James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.8847s
3077Jay HowardGBRSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.8862s
3150Jack HarveyGBRMichael Shank Racing with Andretti Autosport41.1065s
3263Pippa MannGBRDale Coyne Racing41.1732s
3350Marco AndrettiUSAMichael Shank Racing with Andretti Autosport41.8939s