Castroneves leads Rahal in second Detroit Practice; Rossi crashes

Helio Castroneves led the way in second practice - Credit: Bret Kelley / IndyCar

Helio Castroneves reversed the fortunes from the first practice session around the streets of Detroit to lead Graham Rahal in second practice on Friday.

After seeing Rahal lead earlier in the day, Castroneves hit the front with a lap of 1:15.1511s, with the Team Penske driver 0.2008 seconds clear of the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver.

Third fastest was Alexander Rossi, but the American completed only three laps of the Belle Isle track before hitting the wall at turn nine. The incident for the Andretti Herta Autosport driver brought out the red flags, and caused the session to be suspended for eight minutes while the clean up operation concluded.

Simon Pagenaud was fourth quickest for Team Penske, 0.3066 seconds down on his team-mate, while Mikhail Aleshin ended up fifth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport, a further 0.0805 seconds down.

Last weekend’s Indianapolis 500 winner Takuma Sato ended sixth for Andretti Autosport ahead of JR Hildebrand of Ed Carpenter Racing and Will Power of Team Penske, while Ryan Hunter-Reay was ninth for Andretti Autosport despite a spin a turn eleven shortly after the restart following Rossi’s crash.

Luckily for the former series champion, he avoided contact with the wall and was able to continue, while Tony Kanaan completed the top ten for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Esteban Gutierrez continued his rookie weekend for Dale Coyne Racing but was the slowest of the runners in the session, 3.3902 seconds off the pace of Castroneves and 0.9318 seconds down on team-mate Ed Jones, while in between the team-mates was Scott Dixon, who only completed nine laps for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Belle Isle Park Free Practice 2 Result

13Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:15.1511
215Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:15.3519
398Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:15.4323
41Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:15.4577
57Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:15.5382
626Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport1:15.5923
721JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:16.0380
812Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:16.0593
928Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:16.1352
1010Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:16.1400
1116Oriol ServiaESPRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:16.1488
125James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:16.2264
134Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises1:16.3788
142Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske1:16.5945
158Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:16.7223
1627Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:16.7757
1783Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:16.8943
1820Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:17.0226
1914Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises1:17.1111
2019Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing1:17.6095
219Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:17.7836
2218Esteban GutierrezMEXDale Coyne Racing1:18.5413