Pagenaud on top as Penske go 1-2-3-4 again at Road America

Simon Pagenaud ended fastest in final practice at Road America - Credit: Matt Fraver / IndyCar

For the second time in three practice sessions at Road America, Team Penske locked out the top four places, with Simon Pagenaud coming out on top on Saturday morning.

The reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion set the best time of the weekend so far with a 1:42.0439s, just 0.0259 seconds faster than Will Power, who won at Road America in 2016, while Helio Castroneves and Josef Newgarden finished third and fourth.

Newgarden set his best time late in the session despite an earlier trip into the gravel trap at turn fourteen after twenty minutes, but after being recovered he was able to resume the session.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon was the best of the rest in fifth, ahead of the leading Andretti Autosport machine of Marco Andretti, while Spencer Pigot placed seventh for Ed Carpenter Racing, albeit more than a second adrift of Pagenaud.

Graham Rahal was eighth for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing ahead of James Hinchcliffe of Schmidt Peterson Motorsport, while Ryan Hunter-Reay of Andretti Autosport completed the top ten ahead of a trio of Chip Ganassi Racing entries, Charlie Kimball, Max Chilton and Tony Kanaan.

Mikhail Aleshin returned to the #7 Schmidt Peterson Motorsport machine after finally arriving at Road America following his immigration delays in France, and he took over the car from Robert Wickens, who participated in both practice sessions on Friday. Aleshin finished twentieth fastest, ahead of Conor Daly, who again brought up the rear of the field for AJ Foyt Racing.

Road America Free Practice 3 Result

11Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:42.0439
212Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:42.0698
33Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:42.4047
42Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske1:42.4564
59Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:42.7835
627Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:42.8512
720Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:43.0696
815Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:43.0840
95James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:43.0923
1028Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:43.1666
1183Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:43.2120
128Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:43.4406
1310Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:43.4521
1414Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises1:43.5513
1526Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport1:43.8344
1618Esteban GutierrezMEXDale Coyne Racing1:43.9497
1719Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing1:43.9551
1898Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:44.1377
1921JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:44.1844
207Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:44.4452
214Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises1:44.5421