Rossi sets the pace in opening Road America practice

by Paul Hensby

Alexander Rossi headed the field in the opening free practice session at Road America, with the Andretti Herta Autosport driver leading a trio of Team Penske drivers.

However, for Andretti Autosport team-mate Ryan Hunter-Reay, a crash with just over five minutes remaining into the barriers on the exit of turn fourteen ended the session early for everyone.

Rossi, a past winner at Road America nine years ago whilst racing in Formula BMW, hit the top with a lap of 1:43.3285s, 0.2340 seconds clear of reigning series champion Simon Pagenaud, while defending race winner Will Power was 0.4223 seconds back in third.

Josef Newgarden was fourth, also for Penske on a 1:43.7780s, with Scott Dixon the leading of the Chip Ganassi Racing quartet in fifth, with team-mate Max Chilton seventh, just behind Schmidt Peterson MotorsportsJames Hinchcliffe.

Hunter-Reay ended eighth despite his late crash, which he emerged unscathed from, while his Andretti Autosport team-mate Marco Andretti was ninth ahead of the fourth Penske of Helio Castroneves.

Robert Wickens participated in his first practice session for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport as he stands in for the delayed Mikhail Aleshin, who was prevented from leaving France on time due to immigration issues after competing in the 24 Hours of Le Mans last weekend. Wickens completed eleven laps and finished twentieth, just behind Esteban Gutierrez but ahead of Conor Daly.

Road America Free Practice 1 Result

198Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:43.3285
21Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:43.5625
312Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:43.7508
42Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske1:43.7780
59Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:43.8994
65James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:43.9047
78Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:44.0483
828Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:44.0681
927Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:44.0967
103Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:44.3249
1115Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:44.4590
1283Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:44.4748
1319Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing1:44.5882
1414Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises1:44.6224
1520Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:44.7711
1610Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:44.9998
1726Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport1:45.3601
1821JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:45.6062
1918Esteban GutierrezMEXDale Coyne Racing1:45.6257
207Robert WickensCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:45.6823
214Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises1:45.6920

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More