Castroneves Leads Penske 1-2-3 in Opening Toronto Practice

1 Mins read
Helio Castroneves topped FP1 in Toronto - Credit: Chris Jones / IndyCar

A week after claiming his first Verizon IndyCar Series victory in three years at Iowa Speedway, veteran Brazilian Helio Castroneves set the fastest time as practice got underway around the streets of Toronto, IndyCar’s annual trip north of the border.

Castroneves set a best time of 1:01.1211s during the 45-minute session, and led a Team Penske 1-2-3 ahead of team-mates Josef Newgarden and Simon Pagenaud, although the fourth member of the team and the defending race winner, Will Power, languished down in sixteenth.

Newgarden jumped ahead of Pagenaud late in the session, but the young American was 0.3887 seconds down on Castroneves, with reigning series champion Pagenaud a further 0.0347 seconds back.

Scott Dixon was the best non-Penske driver in fourth, with the championship leader 0.5829 seconds down on Castroneves’ pace for Chip Ganassi Racing, while Graham Rahal ended the session in fifth for his fathers Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing team, 0.6025 seconds back.

Spencer Pigot showed good pace as the Ed Carpenter Racing driver ended up sixth ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsport’s James Hinchcliffe, while Tony Kanaan, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Takuma Sato completed the top ten.

Marco Andretti was bumped out of the top ten in the closing stages, as was Max Chilton, who fell to fourteenth after spinning at turn eight late in the session, which required the marshals to restart him.

Streets of Toronto Free Practice 1 Result

[table id=2232 /]

12243 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts

Jack Harvey Joins Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing for 2022

2 Mins read
Jack Harvey joins Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing on a multi-year contract starting in 2022.
Formula 1IndyCar

McLaren to Assess O’Ward's Formula 1 Potential in Young Drivers’ Test – Zak Brown

2 Mins read
Zak Brown says McLaren will begin assessing Pato O’Ward’s chances of joining the Formula 1 grid in the future after the young driver test in Abu Dhabi in December.

USF Juniors formed for 2022, first step in Road to Indy

2 Mins read
The USF Juniors, débuting in 2022 and founded by Andersen Promotions, will be the fifth and lowest rung on the Road to Indy.