Formula E

Da Costa disagrees with drive-through penalty

1 Mins read
Credit: Formula E

Antonio Felix da Costa has said that he disagrees with the penalty the stewards handed down to him at the New York ePrix following contact with Loic Duval.

The MS Amlin Andretti driver was fighting to get into the last points scoring positions when he lunged down the inside of Duval into one of the hairpins.

The move seemed ambitious, and after failing to draw alongside Duval he ended up tagging his rear right tyre and sent him into a spin.

The race stewards issued da Costa with a drive-through penalty, something that the Portugese said effectively ended his race.

“It was a good start to the race,” da Costa said. “I made up a few positions doing well on energy, considering the cars around me.

“I jumped another car on the pit stop, was running in the points and then, circumstances of the race, we were fighting with other cars which made me have contact with Duval at one point.

“I don’t agree on the decision of the race control, but I ended up with a drive through from that. Lost the race there.”

It was a disappointing race on the whole for the Andretti team, who came away from New York with just four points after Robin Frijns managed to ninth place finishes.

The BMW backed team will be concerned that once again their pace saw them towards the back of the field, with neither driver able to challenge for the front of the grid in qualifying.

While other teams seem to have improved as the season has gone on, Andretti are going backwards, and they now lie in joint seventh in the team’s standings, just nine points above last place.

Driver’s Championship

[table id=2254 /]

Team’s Championship

[table id=2255 /]

Related posts
Formula E

Nissan confirm Buemi and Rowland for 2020-21 season

1 Mins read
Nissan e.dams retain both drivers heading into the 2020-21 Formula E championship
Formula EIndyCar

Antonio Felix da Costa to Test With Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing at Barber in November

2 Mins read
2019-20 Formula E champion Antonio Felix da Costa will test with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing this November at Barber Motorsports Park.
FIA WECFormula 1Formula E

Grosjean Keeping Formula E, WEC Options Open for 2021 if Formula 1 Drive Disappears

1 Mins read
Romain Grosjean would look at championships outside of Formula 1 if he loses his drive with the Haas F1 Team for the 2021 season.

Leave a Reply