Formula 2

Leclerc Leads Rowland in Silverstone Free Practice

1 Mins read
Charles Leclerc topped free practice at Silverstone - Credit: Malcolm Griffiths/FIA Formula 2

Championship leader Charles Leclerc set the pace during Thursday’s Free Practice session at Silverstone, with the Prema Racing driver more than three-tenths of a second clear of the field.

Leclerc was the only driver to dip below 1:41s during the session, which was run fully on the Hard compound tyre by all, with Pirelli bringing that compound and the Soft to Silverstone this weekend, with the Monegasque driver setting a best time of 1:40.695s.

Oliver Rowland, who currently sits second in the standings heading into his home event, finished second fastest with a 1:41.010s, while Luca Ghiotto finished third for Russian Time, a further 0.237 seconds down on the DAMS driver.

Nicholas Latifi, currently going through the best form of his FIA Formula 2 Championship career, was fourth fastest in the second DAMS entry, just ahead of the second Russian Time entry of Artem Markelov, who comes to Silverstone having secured his second victory of the season last weekend at the Red Bull Ring.

Rapax duo Sergio Canamasas and Nyck de Vries were sixth and eighth respectively, either side of British racer Jordan King of MP Motorsport, while Pertamina Arden’s Norman Nato and Racing Engineering’s Louis Delétraz completed the top ten.

In his first practice outing in Formula 2 machinery, Callum Ilott ended the session down in eighteenth position for Trident with a best time of 1:42.314s, 0.003 seconds faster than team-mate Nabil Jeffri.

Silverstone Free Practice Result

[table id=2222 /]

12243 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula 1Formula 2Formula 3

Junior Team has ‘Strength and Depth’ as Red Bull Look to the Future – Horner

1 Mins read
Christian Horner says Red Bull’s young driver programme is thriving, and there are plenty of options to whom will be the next Junior Team driver to be promoted to Formula 1.
Formula 2

Piastri Stretches Championship Lead Following Feature Race Win in Russia

2 Mins read
Oscar Piastri reinforced his championship lead with a comfortable win at Sochi, his third victory of the 2021 Formula 2 season.
Formula 2

Ticktum Claims Second Win of the Season in delayed Sochi Sprint Race

2 Mins read
Daniel Ticktum takes Sprint Race glory as title rivals Oscar Piastri and Guanyu Zhou fail to score points on a damp Sochi track.