Penske Dominate Final Toronto Practice; Pagenaud Fastest

Simon Pagenaud was fastest in final practice around the streets of Toronto - Credit: Joe Skibinski / IndyCar

Simon Pagenaud was quickest for the second time in three practice sessions around the streets of Toronto, leading a Team Penske 1-2-3-4 in final practice on Saturday morning.

The reigning series champion set the best time of the weekend so far of 59.7864s to lead team-mate Helio Castroneves by 0.0391 seconds, with Josef Newgarden third ahead of Will Power.

The best non-Penske, and also the best non-Chevrolet-powered entry was Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay, 0.1901 seconds back on Pagenaud, while Graham Rahal was the only other driver to dip below the one-minute mark during the session, with the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver setting a time of 59.9844s.

Andretti machines were seventh and eighth, Alexander Rossi ahead of Takuma Sato, while home-hero James Hinchcliffe ended the session in ninth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Carlos Muñoz.

Tony Kanaan was the best placed of the Chip Ganassi Racing quartet in eleventh, but his team-mates Scott Dixon, Charlie Kimball and Max Chilton were seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth respectively, ahead only of JR Hildebrand, who crashed his Ed Carpenter Racing machine, and Conor Daly.

Spencer Pigot ended up twelfth for Ed Carpenter Racing ahead of Esteban Gutierrez of Dale Coyne Racing, with Marco Andretti fifteenth ahead of Sebastian Saavedra, in the #7 Schmidt Peterson Motorsport machine this weekend in place of Mikhail Aleshin, and Ed Jones.

Streets of Toronto Free Practice 3 Result

11Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske59.7864
23Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske59.8255
32Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske59.8828
412Will PowerAUSTeam Penske59.9529
528Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport59.9765
615Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing59.9844
798Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:00.1751
826Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport1:00.1777
95James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:00.2390
1014Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises1:00.3290
1110Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:00.3859
1220Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:00.4025
1318Esteban GutierrezMEXDale Coyne Racing1:00.5424
1427Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:00.5869
157Sebastian SaavedraCOLSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:00.6194
1619Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing1:00.6742
179Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:00.6752
1883Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:00.7340
198Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:00.8337
2021JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:01.0371
214Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises1:01.1741