Will Power Grabs Mid-Ohio Pole from Team-mate Newgarden

Will Power took pole position at Mid-Ohio on Saturday - Credit: Chris Jones / IndyCar

Will Power took his third pole position around the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course and his forty-ninth of his Verizon IndyCar Series career with a strong qualifying performance on Saturday.

The Team Penske driver has qualified on the front row at Mid-Ohio for the past six seasons, and he set a best lap of 1:04.1720s to deny team-mate Josef Newgarden top spot by 0.1347 seconds, although Power’s best lap was more than half a second better than third placed Takuma Sato.

Sato had a good session, with the Andretti Autosport driver making it through to the Fast Six Shootout and finishing ahead of Graham Rahal, although the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver will feel he should have been higher up the grid after a mistake on his fastest lap.

Helio Castroneves was the third Penske driver to make it into the Fast Six, but the Brazilian could only manage fifth on the grid, while Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon continued his impressive record of making it through to every Fast Six session of 2017 so far, with the championship leader qualifying sixth.

Simon Pagenaud just missed out on the Fast Six by less than five-thousandths of a second, while James Hinchcliffe will start eighth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport ahead of Andretti Herta Autosport’s Alexander Rossi and Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Conor Daly had by far his best qualifying session of the season to make it into the Fast Twelve segment, with the AJ Foyt Racing driver ending up eleventh, just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Esteban Gutierrez.

Daly had profited from Tony Kanaan losing his best lap time for causing a local yellow flag during the opening session, with the Chip Ganassi Racing driver losing control at turn two and ultimately qualifying down in seventeenth.

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course Qualifying Result

112Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:04.1720
22Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske1:04.3067
326Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport1:04.6792
415Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:04.7959
53Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:04.8485
69Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:05.1927
- - Eliminated in Q2- - -
71Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:04.3008
85James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:04.3784
998Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:04.4906
1028Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:04.4928
114Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises1:04.8745
1218Esteban GutierrezMEXDale Coyne Racing1:05.0368
- - Eliminated in Q1- - -
1383Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:04.9930
1427Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:04.5929
1519Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing1:05.0337
1620Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:04.6186
1710Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:05.3200
188Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:04.8603
1921JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:05.3382
2014Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises1:04.9440
217Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:05.2441