Power ahead of Pagenaud in Final Practice as Penske Show some Pocono Pace

1 Mins read
Will Power was quickest in second practice at Pocono Raceway - Credit: Bret Kelley / IndyCar

Will Power paced the field in final practice at Pocono Raceway on Saturday as Team Penske finally showed some pace this weekend at the ‘Tricky Triangle’.

The Australian, the defending Pocono race winner, set the best time of the session of 41.6100s to lead team-mate and defending series champion Simon Pagenaud by just 0.0217 seconds.

Third and fourth respectively were Chip Ganassi Racing duo Max Chilton and Tony Kanaan, while the other two Team Penske cars were inside the top six, with Helio Castroneves fifth despite crashing during his qualifying effort earlier in the day, and championship leader Josef Newgarden sixth.

Marco Andretti was the best of the Andretti Autosport drivers in seventh ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Esteban Gutierrez, who continues to improve as he attacks his first superspeedway this weekend, while Sebastian Saavedra, racing this weekend for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports following Mikhail Aleshin’s departure from the team, was ninth.

Alexander Rossi completed the top ten for Andretti Herta Autosport, just ahead of Takuma Sato, who secured pole position earlier in the day for Andretti Autosport, and Schmidt Peterson Motorsports’ James Hinchcliffe.

Ed Carpenter turned his first laps since his crash during the first practice session that prevented him from attempting a qualifying effort, but Ryan Hunter-Reay was absent after his own crash during qualifying, with the American having been transported to hospital for further checks after complaining of a painful hip.

Pocono Raceway Free Practice 2 Result

[table id=2371 /]

Related posts

Stefan Wilson returning to Indy 500 with Andretti

2 Mins read
Stefan Wilson will make his third career Indianapolis 500 start as he returns to Andretti Autosport. It will be his first race since 2018.

IndyCar great Bobby Unser dies at 87

2 Mins read
Bobby Unser, a three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Pikes Peak International Hill Climb legend, and beloved commentator, has passed away at the age of 87.

O'Ward Finally Wins First Career IndyCar Race in Exciting Xpel 375

6 Mins read
Patricio O’Ward finally takes his maiden IndyCar victory, beating Josef Newgarden in the Xpel 375 to finish off the doubleheader at Texas Motor Speedway.

Leave a Reply