Dixon Leads Rossi in Final Watkins Glen Practice

1 Mins read
Scott Dixon was fastest in final practice at Watkins Glen - Credit: Chris Owens / IndyCar

Scott Dixon was quickest in the final practice session at Watkins Glen International on Saturday, with the New Zealander edging out Alexander Rossi by just 0.0220 seconds.

Dixon, currently sitting second in championship standings with just this weekends race and the finale at Sonoma Raceway to go this season, set a best lap of 1:22.6441 seconds to edge out Rossi, with the Chip Ganassi Racing and Andretti Herta Autosport drivers the only ones to get beneath the 1:23s barrier.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was third fastest for Andretti Autosport ahead of the leading Team Penske entry of Helio Castroneves, while Sebastien Bourdais completed the top five for Dale Coyne Racing as he continued his progress since returning to the Verizon IndyCar Series following injury last weekend.

Bourdais did end the session with a spin, but his best lap saw him edge ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Takuma Sato in sixth, while Graham Rahal was seventh quickest for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Josef Newgarden and Simon Pagenaud, at loggerheads following their banging of wheels during last weekends race at Gateway Motorsports Park, were eighth and ninth respectively for Team Penske, while Charlie Kimball ended tenth for Chip Ganassi Racing ahead of Conor Daly and Tony Kanaan.

The fourth Penske of Will Power struggled to sixteenth, while Jack Harvey, making his first IndyCar road course start this weekend, was nineteenth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, just two places behind team-mate James Hinchcliffe.

Watkins Glen International Free Practice 3 Result

[table id=2416 /]

Related posts

Stefan Wilson returning to Indy 500 with Andretti

2 Mins read
Stefan Wilson will make his third career Indianapolis 500 start as he returns to Andretti Autosport. It will be his first race since 2018.

IndyCar great Bobby Unser dies at 87

2 Mins read
Bobby Unser, a three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Pikes Peak International Hill Climb legend, and beloved commentator, has passed away at the age of 87.

O'Ward Finally Wins First Career IndyCar Race in Exciting Xpel 375

6 Mins read
Patricio O’Ward finally takes his maiden IndyCar victory, beating Josef Newgarden in the Xpel 375 to finish off the doubleheader at Texas Motor Speedway.

Leave a Reply