Formula E

Mahindra stick with Rosenqvist and Heidfeld

1 Mins read
Credit: Formula E

Mahindra Racing have confirmed that they will be retaining Nick Heidfeld and Felix Rosenqvist for the 2017-18 season.

The move had been widely expected after the Indian team had their best ever season in Formula E, which included winning their first race and achieving ten podiums throughout the year.

The only question mark had been over the future of Rosenqvist, who was believed to have an offer to drive in Indycar for next season.

The Swede however has committed his future to the team by signing a multi-year deal, something which he said was always his intention when he joined the team.

“I’m thrilled to be back for a second season in Formula E and to extend my relationship with Mahindra Racing,” Rosenqvist said.

“That was our mutual intention from the very beginning, and we’ve already completed a series of promising tests with the M4Electro in recent months.

“Moving into season four, I will draw on everything I learned in 2016/17 to try and lift us to the next level. It will be a massive challenge with stiff competition, but we have a solid foundation and are all fully-committed to taking the fight to the very best.”

Heidfeld also said he was delighted to be at a team that he believed was only getting stronger.

He said, “I am proud to be part of Mahindra Racing where we have been going from strength to strength in Formula-E.

“It’s exactly where I want to be and I am delighted to extend my contract and commitment to target even more success. I am thrilled and can’t wait to compete in my M4-Electro in this ever-improving championship.”

Panasonic Jaguar Racing are due to announce their line-up for season four of the series tomorrow, with rumours indicating that inaugural champion Nelson Piquet Jr is set to switch to the British squad from NIO.

679 posts

About author
Formula E writer for TCF since 2015-16 and fascinated by all things electric.
Related posts
Formula E

Norman Nato, Tom Dillmann Announced as Jaguar TCS Racing as Reserve Drivers

2 Mins read
Jaguar TCS Racing will have two reserve drivers for the 2021/22 Formula E season, with Tom Dillmann being joined by Norman Nato.
Formula E

Porsche Taycan Unveiled as New Safety Car for Season Eight of FIA Formula E

1 Mins read
The new Formula E safety car has been revealed as the Porsche Taycan Turbo S, which will begin its duties in the Diriyah E-Prix later this month.
Formula E

Italian Marque Maserati to Join FIA Formula E Grid for Season Nine in 2023

2 Mins read
Maserati will join the Formula E grid for season nine beginning in 2023, thus becoming the first Italian manufacturer to join the championship.