Newgarden Leads Power and Pagenaud in Opening Sonoma Practice

1 Mins read
Josef Newgarden was quickest in first practice at Sonoma - Credit: Chris Owens / IndyCar

Championship leader Josef Newgarden set the pace in the opening practice session of the season finale at Sonoma Raceway as Team Penske locked out the top three places.

Newgarden has a three-point advantage in the championship ahead of Scott Dixon ahead of this weekend’s double-points finale, and he set the pace with a best time of 1:16.3950s ahead of team-mates Will Power and Simon Pagenaud.

All four Penske drivers remain in contention for the championship, as does Chip Ganassi Racing’s Dixon, but while Alexander Rossi and Graham Rahal both remain mathematically in with a shout, they would need a miracle result for either to take the crown.

Rossi kept up his momentum from his race-winning performance from Watkins Glen International to set the fourth fastest time for Andretti Herta Autosport ahead of Sebastien Bourdais of Dale Coyne Racing, while Dixon was sixth, 0.2247 seconds off Newgarden’s best.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was seventh for Andretti Autosport ahead of Castroneves, who could only get to within 0.3075 seconds of Newgarden, while Tony Kanaan of Chip Ganassi Racing and Marco Andretti of Andretti Autosport completed the top ten.

Rahal was eleventh fastest for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, with the American having the rarity of a team-mate this weekend, with Canadian Zachery Cleman DeMelo making his series debut, although the teenager brought up the rear of the twenty-two car field in his first practice session.

Sonoma Raceway Free Practice 1 Result

[table id=2470 /]

Related posts

Stefan Wilson returning to Indy 500 with Andretti

2 Mins read
Stefan Wilson will make his third career Indianapolis 500 start as he returns to Andretti Autosport. It will be his first race since 2018.

IndyCar great Bobby Unser dies at 87

2 Mins read
Bobby Unser, a three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Pikes Peak International Hill Climb legend, and beloved commentator, has passed away at the age of 87.

O'Ward Finally Wins First Career IndyCar Race in Exciting Xpel 375

6 Mins read
Patricio O’Ward finally takes his maiden IndyCar victory, beating Josef Newgarden in the Xpel 375 to finish off the doubleheader at Texas Motor Speedway.

Leave a Reply