British Rallycross

PREVIEW – Croft Hosts 2017 British Rallycross Finale And Rallycross Grand Prix

3 Mins read
The 2017 British Rallycross Championship comes to a close this weekend. Credit:

The 2017 Toyo Tyres MSA British Rallycross Championship reaches its exciting climax this weekend where titles will be decided in the traditional end of season double header with the MSA British Rallycross Grand Prix.

Three drivers will be fighting for the MSA Supercar title, however you might not have picked two of them at the start of the year. Julian Godfrey leads the fight as he looks to try and win his sixth British RX title of his career, however both Nathan Heathcote and Oliver Bennett have other ideas.

Julian Godfrey could secure his sixth British RX crown at Croft. Credit:

Heathcote started of the year well by winning at Croft in the LD Motorsports Citroen C4 and depsite some mechanical issues during the season, lies in contention in his first year of top flight action. Bennett made his Rallycross debut at Croft and has kept consistent points scoring to be in with a chance of winning.

In the MSA Supernational Championship, Tristan Ovenden leads the series by nine points from Paige Bellerby, who won the first three events of the year.

Both Ovenden and Bellerby will be going all out for victory at the Yorkshire venue however both drivers will have to fend off the likes of Tony LynchGuy Corner and Allan Tapscott to name a few as they look to win their first Supernational title.

Paige Bellerby is in the hunt for her first Supernational title this weekend. Credit:

Whilst Tom Llewellin has already secured the 2017 MSA Junior Rallycross Championship, the fight is still on for the runner up spot in the category between two of the finest young stars in the sport.

Norwegian Ole Henry Steinsholt and Tom Constantine can both secure second spot but it is Steinsholt who has the momentum on his side in the exciting class that showcases talent of the future in Rallycross.

Ole Henry Steinsholt could secure the runner up spot in his first year of the MSA Junior class. Credit:

In the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship, the title is still up for grabs with Simon Ovenden leading Rob Shield for the title charge.

With four wins to Ovenden and three wins to Shield, expect a titanic battle for the Championship which will also see 2017 MSA Junior Rallycross Champion Tom Llewellin move into the class with the Peter Gwynne Motorsport camp.

Father and son duo Mark and Ben Rennison will guest in the RX150 Championship at Croft. Credit:

The RX150 Championship could witness the crowning of Chrissy Palmer as a Triple Championship winner this weekend. Palmer holds a fifteen point lead of rival John Ward and has the advantage of already winning the series for the last two years.

Joining the series this weekend will be former double British Rallycross Champion Mark Rennison and his son Ben Rennison. RX2 International driver Tejas Hirani will take part in the class on Sunday during the Rallycross Grand Prix.

Oliver Bennett could end his debut Rallycross season as Supercar Champion at Croft. Credit:

The amalgamated Super1600 Rallycross Championship, BMW Mini Rallycross Championship and Hot Hatch Rallycross Championship will be providing more exciting action as they look to decide their respective titles.

In Super1600, Paul Coney has a strong lead over Darren Scott as he looks to take his Corsa to the title whilst Michael Boak and Craig Lomax look to end the season on a high.

Paul Coney has a strong lead into the final round of Super1600’s. Credit:

In the BMW Mini class, Martin Hawkes leads the championship with Drew Bellerby closing on his lead as the two rivals battle for the title. Joining the fray to add to the action are former champions Kris and Keifer Hudson in what will be a ten car field for the weekend.

Also expect the Hot Hatch class to be action packed as everyone goes for glory with Leigh-Anne Sedgwick having already secured the 2017 title.

The Retro Rallycross competitors will race for the Martin Schanche Trophy on Sunday. Credit: Retro Rallycross

Finally, Sunday sees the 2017 Procters Coaches MSA British Rallycross Grand Prix in action where the likes of Steve Harris, Tony Bardy and Dave Bellerby will return to the Supercar class to do battle in a race that was dominated by Liam Doran and Dan Rooke in 2016.

Other guest drivers taking part include FIA World Rallycross Championship Commentator Andrew Coley in the XtremeRX Citroen C2 and RX2 International driver Tejas Hirani in the RX150‘s.

World RX Commentator Andrew Coley returns for a second go at the British RX GP. Credit: Matt Bristow

Whilst they decide the winner of the 2017 Retro Rallycross Championship and the John Button Memorial Trophy on Saturday, The Retro RX drivers will also have a support class to the Grand Prix on Sunday.

Drivers will compete in a non-championship invitational event with the winner being awarded the inaugural Martin Schanche Trophy in what is the fiftieth year of Rallycross competition.

892 posts

About author
I have been a very passionate fan of Motorsport for over 30 years with Touring Cars as my favourite form of Motor Racing. I cover The TCR UK Series, The TCR Europe Series and The FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR) as well as following various TCR Series around the world.
Related posts
British Rallycross

SEASON PREVIEW: 2024 British Rallycross Championship

8 Mins read
Preview the 2024 British Rallycross season with discussion on all Supercar drivers set to compete across the season.
British Rallycross

Patrick O'Donovan challenges the French to close in on Thorne's championship lead

2 Mins read
In an electrifying Rallycross France finale, Patrick O’Donovan claimed the top British spot, while Jack Thorne held strong in second. O’Donovan’s fourth-place overall sets the stage for a thrilling British Rallycross Championship showdown at Lydden Hill.
British Rallycross

Patrick O'Donovan wins Round 5 after schedule changed overnight

2 Mins read
Patrick O’Donovan was confirmed as the winner of Round 5 of the 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship after the schedule was amended…