Renault UK Clio Cup

Only Six Drivers Confirmed For Clio Cup Junior Opener

1 Mins read
Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Only six cars are set to take to the grid at Silverstone this weekend (24/25 March) for the opening rounds of the 2018 Renault UK Clio Cup Junior championship, as reported by Motorsport News.

The series was introduced last season as an entry-level championship for tin-top racing, using the same fourth-generation cars as the BTCC-supporting Clio Cup but with engine restrictors.

It wasn’t a smooth start however with an initial twelve round championship postponed, to be later replaced by a four-event mini-series running in the Autumn.

An average of eight cars entered over the four meetings, producing four different race-winners and Jack Young as the inaugural champion with MRM Racing.

Entries for the series haven’t picked up heading into 2018 however with six drivers believed to be confirmed so far, which is much lower than some of its competition at the Junior level of motorsport.

Young is set to return to defend his crown, coming up against Team Pyro’s 2017 vice-champion Lorcan Hanafin and Fiesta Junior championship runner-up Nick Reeve with new team Specialized Motorsport.

The initial entry will also feature Gus Burton and Louis Doyle will race with Pyro and JamSport Racing respectively, while Jamie-Lea Hawley joins as series’ first female racer with FinSport.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Renault UK Clio Cup

Clio Cup UK Championship Postponed until 2021

1 Mins read
The 2020 Renault Sport Racing Clio Cup Championship has been postponed until 2021 due to the effects of the recent Coronavirus Pandemic
Renault UK Clio CupTCR Europe

Jack Young graduates from Clio Cup to TCR Europe

1 Mins read
17 year-old Jack Young will step up into a TCR-spec Renault Megane for the rest of the season.
Renault UK Clio Cup

All change at the top of the Renault UK Clio Cup standings following Oulton Park

2 Mins read
Jack Young and Max Coates won at Oulton Park. However, it’s all change at the top of the table