Lundgaard Edges Ye and Fewtrell in Monza Collective Tests

by Paul Hensby
Christian Lundgaard - MP Motorsport

Christian Lundgaard began the Autodromo Nazionale Monza weekend of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series by pacing the opening Collective Test session on Friday, while Yifei Ye did likewise in the afternoon session.

Lundgaard, the 2017 SMP F4 and F4 Spanish Champion and one of the four Renault Sport Academy stars on the Eurocup grid in 2018, set the pace in the morning session for MP Motorsport with a best lap of 1:48.217s, a time that was unbeaten throughout the rest of the day at the Italian circuit.

Ye was Lundgaard’s closest challenge in the morning session, with the Chinese racer ending 0.032 seconds back for Josef Kaufmann Racing, while championship leader Max Fewtrell was a further 0.038 seconds back in third for R-ace GP.

Lorenzo Colombo, who has a four-place penalty hanging over him for race one this weekend after causing a collision with Raul Guzman last weekend, was fourth fastest for JD Motorsport ahead of R-ace GP’s Logan Sargeant, who took the opening win of the season last weekend at the Circuit Paul Ricard, and Arden Motorsport duo Aleksandr Vartanyan and Oscar Piastri.

Tech 1 Racing’s Alexander Smolyar was under half a second down on Lundgaard’s pace in eighth, while R-ace GP duo Victor Martins and Charles Milesi ended the morning session completing the top ten.

The afternoon session saw slower times from all twenty-eight drivers on show, but it was Ye who led the way with a time of 1:48.984s, 0.172 seconds clear of Colombo, with Fewtrell again third ahead of Lundgaard and Max Defourny.

Sargeant was sixth fastest ahead of Piastri and Vartanyan, the top eight covered by less than half a second, while MP Motorsport’s Alex Peroni was ninth as Martins rounded out the top ten.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Collective Tests Results (Combined)

131Christian LundgaardDENMP Motorsport1:48.2171:49.246
216Yifei YeCHNJosef Kaufmann Racing1:48.2491:48.984
31Max FewtrellGBRR-ace GP1:48.2871:49.243
461Lorenzo ColomboITAJD Motorsport1:48.4141:49.156
52Logan SargeantUSAR-ace GP1:48.4831:49.427
642Alexander VartanyanRUSArden Motorsport1:48.6341:49.477
741Oscar PiastriAUSArden Motorsport1:48.6731:49.458
822Alexander SmolyarRUSTech 1 Racing1:48.7111:49.777
94Victor MartinsFRAR-ace GP1:48.7731:49.586
103Charles MilesiFRAR-ace GP1:48.7731:49.697
1133Max DefournyBELMP Motorsport1:48.7991:49.391
1253Eliseo MartinezESPAVF by Adrian Valles1:48.9331:49.712
1312Richard VerschoorNEDJosef Kaufmann Racing1:48.9591:49.984
1421Neil VerhagenUSATech 1 Racing1:48.9781:49.645
1562Thomas MaxwellAUSJD Motorsport1:49.0301:49.917
1643Sami TaoufikMORArden Motorsport1:49.1161:50.202
1724Frank BirdGBRTech 1 Racing1:49.1701:50.243
1832Alex PeroniAUSMP Motorsport1:49.1771:49.489
1987Arthur RougierFRAFortec Motorsports1:49.3481:51.000
2054Christian MunozCOLAVF by Adrian Valles1:49.5061:50.956
2185Raul GuzmanMEXFortec Motorsports1:49.5131:50.566
2223Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 Racing1:49.6071:49.969
2311Clement NovalakGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1:49.6231:50.234
2452Xavier LloverasESPAVF by Adrian Valles1:49.9051:50.571
2563Najiy RazakMYSJD Motorsport1:50.1071:50.758
2686Christian HahnBRZFortec Motorsports1:50.1581:50.593
2751Axel MatosMEXAVF by Adrian Valles1:50.3671:51.134
2884Vladimir TziortzisRUSFortec Motorsports1:50.4951:51.174

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More