Formula 2

Maini Edges Norris in Opening Free Practice of 2018 in Bahrain

1 Mins read
Arjun Maini topped practice in Bahrain
Credit: Zak Mauger/LAT Images

Arjun Maini set the best time of the opening free practice session of the 2018 FIA Formula 2 Championship season around the Bahrain International Circuit on Friday as the top sixteen were all covered by less than a second.

Maini, a development driver for the Haas F1 Team, put his Trident machine up front with a lap of 1:44.549s despite missing the first half of the session, with the Indian edging out Carlin’s Lando Norris by 0.051 seconds, with the second Carlin of Sergio Sette Câmara third, a further 0.053 seconds down.

Alexander Albon, who was confirmed to race for DAMS earlier this week albeit just for Bahrain, was fourth, 0.220 seconds behind Maini, while 2017 GP3 Series champion George Russell was fifth for ART Grand Prix, 0.043 seconds behind Albon.

Artem Markelov, who finished as runner-up in the 2017 championship, was sixth for Russian Time ahead of Roberto Merhi of MP Motorsport, with the Spaniard being the last driver to be confirmed to race this weekend on Thursday.

Maximilian Gunther was the leading BWT Arden driver in eighth, with Antonio Fuoco ninth for Charouz Racing System, a team making their debut in the championship after switching from the now-defunct World Series Formula V8 3.5 championship.

Sean Gelael rounded out the top ten for Pertamina Prema Theodore Racing, just 0.665 seconds off the pace, with Jack Aitken of ART Grand Prix and Nicholas Latifi of DAMS eleventh and twelfth respectively.

Bahrain International Circuit Free Practice Result

[table id=2847 /]

12208 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula 1Formula 2

Realistic Piastri Looking to 2023 for Formula 1 Race Seat as 2022 Options Dwindle

1 Mins read
Oscar Piastri says his realistic chance of joining the Formula 1 grid will come in 2023 as he is unlikely to be given the chance to race for Alfa Romeo, the only vacant seat available, next year.
Formula 1Formula 2

Final F1 Practice in Sochi Cancelled Due to Stormy Conditions, F2 Race Postponed

1 Mins read
It’s another wet Grand Prix weekend and sessions are already falling foul in Russia.
Formula 1Formula 2

Drugovich Hopes Rule Change for Rookie Drivers Opens Door for Possible F1 Practice Outings

1 Mins read
Felipe Drugovich is perhaps one of the brightest young talents in junior formulae that does not have the support of a Formula 1 young driver programme.