Alexander Albon Snatches Hungary Sprint Race Win Away From Luca Ghiotto

Alexander Albon - DAMS - Hungary - FIA Formula 2
Credit: Zak Mauger / FIA Formula 2

DAMS‘s Alexander Albon captured victory by passing Luca Ghiotto in the dying moments of the FIA Formula 2 sprint race at the Hungaroroing.

Albon claimed his third victory of the season by passing Ghiotto with four laps to go, after the Italian in the Campos Vexatec Racing led for majority of the race.

Carlin Motorsport‘s Sérgio Sette Câmara redeemed himself from yesterday’s feature race collision with Antonio Fuoco by finishing on the podium in third place.

Lando Norris ended the weekend with fourth place to reduce the gap between himself and the championship leader George Russell, who finished in eighth to claim one point throughout the whole weekend. MP Motorsport‘s Roberto Merhi finished the sprint race in fifth place.

It was a photo finish for sixth place between Nirei Fukuzumi and Nyck de Vries, as the Japanese driver beat the feature race winner by 0.001 seconds on the line.

Russian Time‘s Artem Markelov started the sprint race on pole position after finishing the feature race in eighth. Sérgio Sette Câmara, who started the feature race on pole, shares the front row with the Russian.

Markelov got away off the line poorly at the start with Luca Ghiotto inheriting the lead with a lightning start heading into Turn 1. Contact between Alessio Lorandi, Roy Nissany and Ralph Boschung emerged at the exit of Turn 2 which saw the three drivers going off track. Boschung and Lorandi retired from the race as a result, causing a Virtual Safety Car on the first lap.

As the VSC ending, Ghiotto restarted the race poorly, allowing Albon, Sette Câmara and Markelov to appose an attack for the lead of the race. The Italian in the Campos held on as the four drivers squabbled for the lead. Fuoco on the VSC restart made contact on the rear of Sette Câmara which caused severe damage to his front wing, which he had to pit. Fuoco whilst in the pits was speeding in the pit lane and was given a five second time penalty.

At the halfway stage of the race, Ghiotto leads with a three second gap to Albon in second. Sette Câmara in third ahead of Markelov, de Vries, Norris, Merhi and Jack Aitken.

Norris and de Vries resume their battle from the feature race as Norris closed in on de Vries for fifth place. The Carlin attempted to pass around the outside at Turn 2 but de Vries defended well to hold off the British driver. He made another attempt to pass the Dutch driver but couldn’t find a way through the Pertamina Prema Theodore Racing car.

Nicholas Latifi pitted with a cut tyre after making contact with a slow Maximilian Günther on lap 17. The DAMS driver dropped down to the back of the pack whilst Günther pulled into the pits to retire from the race with mechanical issues.

Prema’s de Vries made an attempt pass on Markelov at Turn 1 but the Russian defended well, leaving de Vries exposed to Norris who made a stunning move around the outside on both de Vries and Markelov for fourth place. Merhi passed de Vries with a diving maneuver at Turn 9 for sixth place.

The Spaniard in the MP Motorsport closed in on Markelov, who started to struggle with grip on Lap 21, passing down the main straight with DRS for fifth place. de Vries soon followed suit as the Russian struggled with pace.

With five laps to go, Albon in second place closes down to Ghiotto for the lead by reducing the gap to 1.2 seconds. On the following lap, Albon executed a move around the outside of the Italian at Turn 1 to take the lead of the race with four laps to go.

Markelov plummeted down the field, dropping outside of the points into thirteenth place, behind team-mate Takasuke Makino. Russell completed his fight back through the field after starting last by passing his ART team-mate Jack Aitken for the final point.

Alexander Albon claims his third FIA Formula 2 win of the season ahead of Luca Ghiotto and Sérgio Sette Câmara, who claims the final podium spot. Lando Norris finishes in fourth ahead of Roberto Merhi. Nirei Fukuzumi pased Nyck de Vries on the line with a photo finish for sixth place. George Russell claims the final point of the sprint race.

15Alexander AlbonTHADAMS
214Luca GhiottoITACampos Vexatec Racing9.465
318Sergio Sette CamaraBRZCarlin Motorsport11.371
419Lando NorrisGBRCarlin Motorsport13.638
59Roberto MerhiESPMP Motorsport28.210
612Nirei FukuzumiJPNBWT Arden34.144
74Nyck de VriesNEDPertamina Prema Theodore Racing34.145
88George RussellGBRART Grand Prix36.586
920Louis DeletrazSUICharouz Racing System37.140
107Jack AitkenGBRART Grand Prix38.976
113Sean GelaelINOPertamina Prema Theodore Racing40.963
122Tadasuke MakinoJPNRussian Time41.535
131Artem MarkelovRUSRussian Time52.230
1416Arjun MainiINDTrident52.379
1515Roy NissanyISRCampos Vexatec Racing1:00.932
166Nicholas LatifiCANDAMS1:17.184
1721Antonio FuocoITACharouz Racing System+1 Lap
DNF11Maximilian GuntherITAMP MotorsportMechanical
DNF17Alessio LorandiITADAMSCrash
DNF10Ralph BoschungSUIART Grand PrixCrash