Nyck de Vries Beats Lando Norris To Hungary Feature Race Victory

by Aaron Gillard
Nyck de Vries - Hungary - Feature Race

Pertamina Prema Theodore Racing and McLaren F1 Team junior driver Nyck de Vries beat Lando Norris to claim victory in a dramatic mixed weather feature race in the FIA Formula 2 championship at the Hungaroring.

The Dutch driver performed an epic drive in the dry to pass Norris, who led the most of the race in the wet conditions before switching to dries. de Vries closed down Norris by over one second a lap before passing him down the chicane on Lap 27.

Charouz Racing System‘s Antonio Fuoco claimed the final podium spot, after being involved in an final lap clash with pole sitter Sérgio Sette Câmara. The Brazilian made contact to the Italian, forcing him into a spin and finished ahead of the Charouz. Sette Câmara was given a ten second time penalty immediately after the race for the incident and dropped down to seventh place.

Jack Aitken claimed ART Grand Prix‘s only points in the race with fourth place, ending his points drought. DAMSAlexander Albon finished ahead of Luca Ghiotto for fifth and sixth places. Russian Time‘s Artem Markelov finished the race eighth and will start Sunday’s sprint race on pole position. His team-mate Tadasuke Makino finished the race in ninth with fellow Japanese driver Nirei Fukuzumi in tenth.

The race started behind the safety car due to the wet conditions as the heavy showers poured down the Hungaroring. Championship leader George Russell started the race from the pit lane after a clutch issue. He would of started the race from fourth.

After three laps behind the safety car, the safety car came in and the cars lined up on the grid for the race. Sette Câmara led away from the line with de Vries getting a good start to claim second place. Markelov went off at Turn five when attempting to pass Maximilian Günther. After the first lap, Sette Câmara led ahead of de Vries, Ghiotto, Aitken and Fuoco. Günther, Louis Delétraz and Ralph Boschung all pitted with damage after collisions on the opening lap.

Roberto Merhi, Arjun Maini, Albon and Roy Nissany all battled for the final points position on the third lap, with Merhi coming out on top as they battled throughout the first sector.

Norris was on a charge as passed Fuoco for fifth place on lap four, passing the Italian around the outside at Turn 2. He repeated this move on Aitken for fourth place on the next lap as he chases for the podium position.

He soon captured third away from Ghiotto passing him on the inside of Turn 13. He set the quickest times of the race as he chased down second place de Vries, who he passed on the inside at Turn 9 as he makes it a Carlin one-two.

Sette Câmara struggled in the conditions as a rapid Norris approached his team-mate, passing him after the chicane to take the lead of the race on Lap 10. The Brazilian continued to struggle in the conditions as de Vries and Fuoco caught up and passed the Carlin Motorsport driver down at Turn 4.

The pair were side by side going into the chicane but Fuoco cut the chicane to avoid colliding with the Prema. The Italian handed the place back to de Vries.

Norris in the lead continued to set the fastest lap of the race as he extends his lead by 14 seconds. His team-mate Sette Camara pitted in for the slick tyres as the track starts to dry. Markelov, Merhi and Sean Gelael soon followed the Brazilian. The rest of the field soon followed excluding Fuoco and Latifi who stayed out for one more lap. As Fuoco came in, he avoided Sette Camara who struggled to apply the brakes down the main straight.

De Vries started to chase down race leader Norris by setting the fastest lap on lap 21 and reducing the gap down to 5.9 seconds. The Dutch driver rapidly closed down Norris by setting times a full second faster than the race leader with ten laps to go.

By lap 27, the gap between Norris and de Vries was less than a second and quickly dispatched the Brit at the chicane to take the lead of the race with seven laps to go.

Albon went straight on when attempting to pass Jack Aiten for fifth at Turn 1, using the run off and nearly losing the rear when attempting to rejoin the track. The DAMS driver then made contact with Merhi when battling for sixth position.

The Virtual Saftey Car was called after Nicholas Latifi stopped on track with four laps to go by the chicane. After one lap, the VSC ended with three to go as the battle for seventh commences between Merhi, Ghiotto, Fukuzumi and Markelov.

Sette Câmara and Fuoco engaged in a last lap battle against Norris but was unable to pass the Brit as he held on to second place. Sette Camara clashed into the rear of Fuoco at the penultimate corner, spinning the Charouz around. The stewards handed immediately a ten second penalty, pushing him down to seventh. Fuoco would claim the final podium spot.

Nyck de Vries claimed his second win of the season, conquering the race in the dry conditions ahead of Norris and Fuoco at Hungary. Artem Markelov will start tomorrow’s sprint race on pole position.

14Nyck de VriesNEDPertamina Prema Theodore Racing1:00:16.996
219Lando NorrisGBRCarlin Motorsport16.508
321Antonio FuocoITACharouz Racing System20.752
47Jack AitkenGBRART Grand Prix21.805
55Alexander AlbonTHADAMS23.077
614Luca GhiottoITACampos Vexatec Racing28.696
718Sergio Sette CamaraBRZCarlin Motorsport29.099
81Artem MarkelovRUSRussian Time35.594
92Tadasuke MakinoJPNRussian Time36.304
1012Nirei FukuzumiJPNBWT Arden37.114
119Roberto MerhiESPMP Motorsport37.983
1216Arjun MainiINDTrident38.336
133Sean GelaelINOPertamina Prema Theodore Racing39.120
1417Alessio LorandiITATrident39.858
1515Roy NissanyISRCampos Vexatec Racing48.072
1611Maximilian GuntherGERBWT Arden53.241
1720Louis DeletrazSUICharouz Racing System1:13.696
1810Ralph BoschungSUIMP Motorsport+1 Lap
DNF6Nicholas LatifiCANDAMSMechanical
DNF8George RussellGBRART Grand PrixMechanical

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More