Formula 3

Christian Lundgaard Quickest on Final Day of F3 Testing

1 Mins read
Christian Lungaard: FIA F3 Testing - Circuit Paul Ricard
Credit: Malcolm Griffiths

Renault Sport Academy driver Christian Lundgaard set the fastest time on the second day of the first FIA Formula 3 Championship pre-season testing at Circuit Paul Ricard.

The Dane set his time in the morning session, to set the fastest time of the two-day test.

Jenzer Motorsport‘s Yuki Tsunoda was fastest in the afternoon session.

The test got underway at 9am local time, with the three ART Grand Prix drivers heading onto the track led by Max Fewtrell.

It was David Beckmann though who set the pace in the early stages.

Jehan Daruvala jumped to the top ahead of Richard Verschoor and Lundgaard, but the Dane soon improved his time to claim the top spot.

Despite his pace, Lundgaard brought out the first red flag of the day out after stopping in the pit entry.

At the restart, PREMA Racing‘s Robert Shwartzman claimed the fastest time, whilst Fewtrell set the second best time.

Sebastian Fernandez was the cause of the second stoppage having come to a halt on the Mistral straight.

The session restarted with Leonardo Pulcini becoming the first man to dip under the 1m49s.

With ten minutes remaining on the clock Marcus Armstrong went quickest but Lundgaard improved on the Ferrari Driver Academy driver’s time to top the session.

Pulcini claimed the third fastest time ahead of Shwartzman, Ye Yifei, Verschoor, Fewtrell, Liam LawsonJake Hughes and Felipe Drugovich.

After the hour lunch break, Verschoor set the pace early on.

The third red flag of the day was brought out one hour into running after Tsunoda stopped at Turn 15.

Just before the two hour mark there was another stoppage after Verschoor stopped at Turn 2.

At the restart Hughes went fastest but Niko Kari improved on the Briton’s time.

Beckmann parked his car at Turn 2 to bring out the third red flag of the afternoon session.

With thirty minutes left on the clock, the track was cleared for running to resume.

In the dying moments Tsunoda claimed the top honours ahead of Kari, Pedro Piquet, Hughes, Verschoor, Alex Peroni, Pulcini, Bent Viscaal, Lawson and Fernandez.

With the first test of the year completed, the next test takes place at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya in Barcelona on 9-10 April.

FIA Formula 3 Le Castellet Test – Day 2: Morning Session Results 

[table id=3711 /]

FIA Formula 3 Le Castellet Test – Day 2: Afternoon Session Results

[table id=3710 /]

Related posts
Formula 3

Vesti joins Mercedes ranks as he switches to ART

1 Mins read
It’s perhaps about time Vesti was signed to a junior program and he will be considered a title favourite in Formula 3 as he looks to take down his dominant former team.
Formula 3

Smolyar retained by ART for second F3 season

1 Mins read
A second year with the same team should bode well for Smolyar who will be keen to be standing on that podium on a regular basis.
Formula 3

Staněk completes Hitech F3 squad after move from Charouz

1 Mins read
The Czech rounds off the Hitech F3 team with Red Bull duo Crawford and Iwasa looking to Staněk for vital experience.

Leave a Reply