President Steve Phelps joins NASCAR Board of Directors

1 Mins read
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

After two years as the President of NASCAR, Steve Phelps has become a member of the sanctioning body’s Board of Directors. NASCAR Chairman Jim France announced the addition on Tuesday.

“Steve’s unwavering leadership and dedication to growing our sport through even the most challenging times has been remarkable,” France said. “Steve understands every part of our business and has demonstrated a consistently confident and steady presence in the face of adversity. He will be a valued and trusted addition to the Board of Directors as we work to build a stronger NASCAR for our fans and our sport.”

Phelps, who succeeded Brent Dewar as President in 2018, has served as one of the sport’s key spokesfigures. In addition to on-track racing, Phelps oversaw major changes like the Cup Series‘ new sponsorship model that began earlier this year and NASCAR’s merger with International Speedway Corporation in late 2019. In 2020, he has the sport through a tumultuous year that included navigating the COVID-19 pandemic and NASCAR’s summer campaign for inclusiveness, the latter of which included spearheading the investigation into the noose in Bubba Wallace‘s Talladega garage in June and weathering the effects of the Confederate flag ban.

The former Chief Marketing and Operating Officer is the fifth President in the sport’s history. Founder Bill France Sr., his son Bill France Jr., and Mike Helton have previously served in the position. Helton is currently a senior advisor for NASCAR and also a member of the Board of Directors.

“I am incredibly honored to be appointed to the Board of Directors,” Phelps stated. “As a lifelong fan of the sport, I feel a great sense of pride and duty in our work to position the sport for long-term success. I am grateful for the leadership and example set by the France family and am genuinely humbled by their continued trust in me.”

France, Executive Vice Chair Lesa France Kennedy, and Chief Legal Officer Gary Crotty are the other three Board members.

Related posts

Bill Elliott becomes eighth SRX driver

1 Mins read
NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott is the eighth confirmed driver for Tony Stewart’s Superstar Racing Experience.

Jimmie Johnson Makes IndyCar Switch with Chip Ganassi Racing

2 Mins read
After his test in July, seven-time NASCAR Cup Series Champion Jimmie Johnson officially announced his plan to race IndyCar with Chip Ganassi Racing in 2021 and 2022.

Auto Club Speedway redevelopment into short track planned by NASCAR

3 Mins read
NASCAR has submitted plans to turn the 2-mile Auto Club Speedway into a short track in the coming years.

Leave a Reply