Formula E

Félix da Costa Tops FP1, Günther Fastest Overall in Valencia E-Prix Practice

2 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula E

António Félix da Costa topped the first free practice session around the Circuit Ricardo Tormo on Saturday morning, while Maximilian Günther ended fastest overall in session two.

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is making its debut around the Valencia circuit this weekend, with the series going away from their usual street circuits to race around a permanent road course, albeit with a few modifications, including a chicane on the start/finish straight.

The opening session was used for drivers to get accustomed to the layout, but even then, the first eighteen drivers were all within one second of the outright pace.

Félix da Costa, the reigning Formula E champion racing again for DS Techeetah, edged the first session with a best time of 1:27.238, 0.187 seconds faster than BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Günther, while Nissan e.DAMSOliver Rowland ended third, a further 0.035 seconds back.

Jean-Éric Vergne, a two-time series champion, ended fourth fastest in the second Techeetah, just ahead of Rome E-Prix race two winner Stoffel Vandoorne of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E Team and the leading ROKiT Venturi Racing entry of Edoardo Mortara.

The top ten was rounded out by Sébastien Buemi (e.DAMS), Nyck de Vries (Mercedes), Jake Dennis (BMW) and Alexander Sims (Mahindra Racing).

The second session saw Günther take top spot with a time of 1:26.958, while Mahindra Racing’s Alex Lynn left it late to jump into second, just 0.012 seconds back.  De Vries also showed good pace to place third, but he will have it all to do in Qualifying, being in group one and with a grid penalty for a final lap clash in Rome hanging over him.

Félix da Costa confirmed Techeetah’s pace by placing fourth, although team-mate Vergne was down in fifteenth, despite being less than half a second slower than Günther at the head of the times.  It should mean Qualifying will be an exciting affair.

Rowland was again inside the top five for e.DAMS, just ahead of René Rast of the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler team, with NIO 333 FE Team’s Tom Blomqvist eighth.  The top ten was rounded out by Tag Heuer Porsche Formula E Team’s André Lotterer and Venturi’s Norman Nato.

Robin Frijns suffered a small spin at turn one, while Günther and Audi’s Lucas di Grassi both took trips through the gravel trap.

Free Practice 1 Times

113Antonio Felix da CostaPORDS Techeetah1:27.238
228Maximilian GuntherGERBMW i Andretti Motorsport+0.187
322Oliver RowlandGBRNissan e.DAMS+0.222
425Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Techeetah+0.237
55Stoffel VandoorneBELMercedes-EQ Formula E Team+0.287
648Edoardo MortaraCHEROKIT Venturi Racing+0.301
723Sebastien BuemiCHENissan e.DAMS+0.336
817Nyck de VriesNEDMercedes-EQ Formula E Team+0.494
927Jake DennisGBRBMW i Andretti Motorsport+0.571
1029Alexander SimsGBRMahindra Racing+0.595
1194Alex LynnGBRMahindra Racing+0.674
1299Pascal WehrleinGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team+0.701
137Sergio Sette CamaraBRZDragon/Penske Autosport+0.714
1437Nick CassidyNZLEnvision Virgin Racing+0.791
1510Sam BirdGBRJaguar Racing+0.817
168Oliver TurveyGBRNIO 333 FE Team+0.876
176Nico MullerCHEDragon/Penske Autosport+0.911
1833Rene RastGERAudi Sport Abt Schaeffler+0.951
1971Norman NatoFRAROKIT Venturi Racing+1.002
2036Andre LottererGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team+1.021
2120Mitch EvansNZLJaguar Racing+1.059
224Robin FrijnsNEDEnvision Virgin Racing+1.206
2311Lucas di GrassiBRZAudi Sport Abt Schaeffler+1.289
2488Tom BlomqvistGBRNIO 333 FE Team+2.270

Free Practice 2 Times

128Maximilian GuntherGERBMW i Andretti Motorsport1:26.958
294Alex LynnGBRMahindra Racing+0.012
317Nyck de VriesNEDMercedes-EQ Formula E Team+0.031
413Antonio Felix da CostaPORDS Techeetah+0.083
522Oliver RowlandGBRNissan e.DAMS+0.106
633Rene RastGERAudi Sport Abt Schaeffler+0.149
788Tom BlomqvistGBRNIO 333 FE Team+0.164
823Sebastien BuemiCHENissan e.DAMS+0.184
936Andre LottererGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team+0.192
1071Norman NatoFRAROKIT Venturi Racing+0.213
115Stoffel VandoorneBELMercedes-EQ Formula E Team+0.243
1227Jake DennisGBRBMW i Andretti Motorsport+0.268
1310Sam BirdGBRJaguar Racing+0.279
1499Pascal WehrleinGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team+0.338
1525Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Techeetah+0.450
1611Lucas di GrassiBRZAudi Sport Abt Schaeffler+0.597
1729Alexander SimsGBRMahindra Racing+0.630
188Oliver TurveyGBRNIO 333 FE Team+0.639
1920Mitch EvansNZLJaguar Racing+0.642
207Sergio Sette CamaraBRZDragon/Penske Autosport+0.714
216Nico MullerCHEDragon/Penske Autosport+0.798
224Robin FrijnsNEDEnvision Virgin Racing+1.173
2348Edoardo MortaraCHEROKIT Venturi Racing+1.188
2437Nick CassidyNZLEnvision Virgin Racing+1.480
Related posts
Formula E

Antonio Felix Da Costa, victorious in Monaco after chaotic E-Prix

3 Mins read
Antonio Felix Da Costa was the race winner in Monaco, after a thrilling race saw him overtake Mitch Evans in the last lap.
Formula E

Antonio Felix Da Costa on pole position in Monaco, with 0.059 seconds separating top 4

3 Mins read
Antonio Felix Da Costa won the fight in a tricky and closely-packed qualifying session, with the top eleven drivers separated by less that half a second.
Formula E

Clean sweep in Practice for Jaguar Racing

1 Mins read
Jaguar Racing put both their drivers in prime positions ahead of qualifying, with Mitch Evans and Sam Bird trading first and second places. Can they do this later today?

Leave a Reply