24 Hours of Le MansAmerican Le Mans SeriesBritish GTFIA WECGrand-AmInternational GT Open

Nick Tandy Named Best Porsche Privateer Of 2012

1 Mins read

After a successful season both in Europe and the US Briton Nick Tandy collected the Porsche Cup, awarded by the manufacturer to the best privateer Porsche driver in GT racing.

Tandy narrowly beat Raymond Narac and Paolo Ruberti to top a list that included winners in the World Endurance Championship and Rolex Series competition.

Tandy collected points toward the Porsche Cup in several championships in 2012, winning five races with Porsche works co-driver Marco Holzer of Manthey Racing in the International GT Open. Furthermore Tandy completed the ADAC GT Masters series in Germany, as well as beginning the Avon Tyres British GT Championship for Motorbase Performance.

In the US Tandy drove for both Flying Lizard Motorsports and TRG in the American Le Mans Series, driving for the former at Petit Le Mans in October.

Tandy ended the season with a total of 7,510 points but beat Narac by just 170 markers, the Frenchman winning points in International GT Open, the European Le Mans Series and the 24 Hours of Le Mans, all with his own IMSA Performance Matmut team.

Ruberti completed the Porsche cup podium, the Italian part of the three man line-up in Team FelbermayrProton’s LMGTE Am car in the WEC. His teammates for the season – Christian Ried and twice Porsche Cup winner Gianluca Roda tied for fifth place.

Nicolas Armindo split the WEC squad, in fourth place.

Andy Lally, Marco Mapelli, Anthony Beltoise and John Potter completing the top ten. Potter and Lally combined for Potter’s Magnus Racing outfit in the Rolex Series, winning the GT class at the Rolex 24 at Daytona and at Indianapolis Motor Speedway to collect the class title in the North American Endurance Championship, run as a championship within the main Rolex Series season.

2902 posts

About author
James is our Diet-Coke fuelled writer and has been with TCF pretty much since day 1, he can be found frequenting twitter at @_JBroomhead
Related posts

FIA WEC 6 Hours of Spa: Toyota Win Rain and Caution-Filled Race

6 Mins read
Toyota Gazoo Racing and AF Corse reigned victorious at a turbulent FIA World Endurance Championship 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps.

FIA WEC 6 Hours of Spa: Glickenhaus Take First Pole Position

2 Mins read
Olivier Pla takes Sensational first pole position for Glickenhaus Racing at the FIA World Endurance Championship 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps.

FIA WEC 6 Hours of Spa: Toyota Back on Top in Final Practice

2 Mins read
Toyota Gazoo Racing return to the front of the field with a second advantage in the final practice session of the FIA World Endurance Championship 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps