Power leads Penske 1-2-3 in final GP of Indy Practice

Will Power led a Team Penske 1-2-3 in final practice ahead of the qualifying session for this weekend’s Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indy on Friday.

The Australian set a new track record of 1m09.3189s during the session to end 0.0125s ahead of team-mate Juan Pablo Montoya, while championship leader Simon Pagenaud made it three Penske’s in the top three, 0.1059s back on Power’s time.

Scott Dixon was the first non-Penske driver in fourth in his Chip Ganassi Racing entry, with the reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion only 0.1295s back on Power, while Takuma Sato was the fastest of the Honda-powered entries, the Japanese racer setting a best time of 1m09.5111s for AJ Foyt Racing.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was an encouraging sixth for Andretti Autosport, ahead of Graham Rahal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing and Carlos Munoz, also of Andretti Autosport.

Tony Kanaan showed good pace for the first time this weekend with the ninth fastest time for Chip Ganassi Racing, while Sebastien Bourdais completed the top ten for KVSH Racing.

Once again times were close, with the top twenty-three within one-second of Power’s pace setting time. Spencer Pigot was again the quickest of the Indy-only entries, setting the fifteenth fastest time for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, while JR Hildebrand, Matt Brabham and Alex Tagliani were nineteenth, twenty-third and twenty-fourth respectively.

Grand Prix of Indy Free Practice 3 Times

112Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1m09.3189s
22Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1m09.3314s
322Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1m09.4248s
49Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1m09.4484s
514Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1m09.5111s
628Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1m09.5421s
715Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1m09.5633s
826Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1m09.5775s
910Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1m09.6234s
1011Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1m09.6603s
115James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m09.6646s
1241Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1m09.7125s
1398Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1m09.7140s
148Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1m09.7266s
1516Spencer PigotUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1m09.7353s
1683Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1m09.7615s
1721Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1m09.7677s
183Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1m09.7753s
196JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing1m09.8224s
2027Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1m09.8400s
2118Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1m10.0112s
227Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m10.0664s
2361Matt BrabhamAUSKV Racing/Pirtek Team Murray1m10.2886s
2435Alex TaglianiCANAJ Foyt Enterprises1m10.4099s
2519Gabby ChavesCOLDale Coyne Racing1m10.4477s