Bourdais and Hunter-Reay pace rapid Fast Friday

Sebastien Bourdais was quickest on Fast Friday at IMS - Credit: : Jim Haines / IndyCar

Sebastien Bourdais recovered from his engine failure on Thursday to lead the way on Fast Friday as drivers adapted to running qualifying simulations around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Speeds rose significantly on Friday thanks to the increase in turbo boost allowed, and the Dale Coyne Racing driver set a best lap of 233.116mph to lead a Honda-dominated top ten, with only one Chevrolet-powered Dallara inside the top dozen.

Bourdais finished ahead of a trio of Andretti Autosport drivers, with Ryan Hunter-Reay second quickest with a lap of 232.132mph ahead of Takuma Sato (231.969mph) and Fernando Alonso (231.827mph), with the Spaniard being the leading rookie once more.

Hunter-Reay also had the honour of setting the fastest lap without a tow, which bodes well for qualifying, with the American setting a lap of 231.273mph, with Bourdais’ best no-tow lap not far behind that of the 2014 Indy 500 winner.

Juan Pablo Montoya was the only Chevrolet-powered driver inside the top twelve, with the Colombian placing his #22 Team Penske into fifth place overall with a lap of 231.682mph.

Montoya’s team-mates Helio Castroneves, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud and Josef Newgarden were thirteenth, sixteenth, twenty-third and twenty-fourth respectively, with none of them able to breach the 231mph barrier.

James Hinchcliffe led the trio of Schmidt Peterson Motorsport entrants in sixth, with team-mates Mikhail Aleshin and Jay Howard just behind, while Ed Jones was ninth for Dale Coyne Racing ahead of defending Indy 500 champion Alexander Rossi of Andretti Herta Autosport.

There were two crashes during the session, with Spencer Pigot of Juncos Racing and Zach Veach of AJ Foyt Racing finding the wall, with both being checked over at the Medical Centre and cleared to resume racing.

Jack Harvey was forced to change engines during the session after smoke was seen trailing from his car early on, with the Michael Shank Racing with Andretti Autosport crew doing a great job to allow him the opportunity to return to the track before the session ended, aided by a three-hour rain break.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Fast Friday Practice Results

118Sebastien BourdaisFRADale Coyne Racing38.6074s
228Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport38.7711s
326Takuma SatoJAPAndretti Autosport38.7983s
429Fernando AlonsoESPMcLaren Honda Andretti38.8220s
522Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske38.8463s
65James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports38.8740s
77Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports38.8858s
877Jay HowardGBRSchmidt Peterson Motorsports38.9181s
919Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing38.9185s
1098Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport38.9288s
1110Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing38.9519s
129Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing38.9584s
133Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske38.9640s
1416Oriol ServiaESPRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing38.9801s
1527Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport39.0000s
1612Will PowerAUSTeam Penske39.0088s
1720Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing39.0097s
188Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing39.0225s
1921JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing39.0241s
2083Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing39.0735s
2163Pippa MannGBRDale Coyne Racing39.1130s
2215Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing39.1292s
231Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske39.1350s
242Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske39.3660s
2550Jack HarveyGBRMichael Shank Racing with Andretti Autosport39.4001s
2624Sage KaramUSADreyer & Reinbold Racing39.4462s
2714Carlos MunozCOLAJ Foyt Enterprises39.4813s
284Conor DalyUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises39.6083s
2988Gabby ChavesUSAHarding Racing39.6182s
3040Zach VeachUSAAJ Foyt Enterprises39.6333s
3117Sebastian SaavedraCOLJuncos Racing39.7835s
3211Spencer PigotUSAJuncos Racing39.7931s
3344Buddy LazierUSALazier Partners Racing40.9761s