Formerly earning their motorsport boots in the MGF Cup, Tech-Speed Racing have fought it out with the giants of BTCC in recent seasons, having raced as Independents in the championship with many different manufacturers over the years.

Founded in 1984, Tech-Speed built and supplied BMW M3 machines for various BTCC teams as privateer entries in the early 90s, with the likes of David Leslie and Matt Neal amongst a few of the drivers that appeared behind the wheel before the squad left the series to return to club-level racing, due to manufacturer dominance in BTCC during the mid-90s in the Super Touring era.

Their BTCC return then came in 2001, with Tech-Speed entering two Peugeot 306 GTis for Annie Templeton and Paul O’Neill in the championship’s new Production class, O’Neill finishing eighth in class before leaving the squad and being replaced by Mark Fullalove who achieved the same result in 2002, the team again taking a sabbatical until 2005

O’Neill would become a household name for the squad later in their life however, joining the squad for a one-off appearance in 2006 and leading a race as the team completed their second year in a bio ethanol-powered Vauxhall Astra Coupe, Fiona Leggate having raced the innovative machine in 2005 and 2006 before the team then switched to the Sport Hatch version for Turkish driver Erkut Kizilirmak, Martyn Bell joining in 2008 as the Indpendent team slumped somewhat under the Arkas Racing banner in 14th and 13th in the team’s championship.

Tech-Speed’s finest hours came when O’Neill returned, the team acquiring two ex-Eurotech Honda Integras in 2009. A podium for O’Neill at Snetterton made the team the fan’s favourite underdogs on their way to seventh in the team’s championship, before becoming consistent top 10 runners in 2010 and finishing sixth.

Switching to an older Chevrolet Cruze chassis used by the 2010 works RML squad, the team’s most recent season again saw them prove top 10 material and nuisances to the front-runners in 2011 under the GoMobile.UK banner, sixth in the team’s championship with another podium to their name being the highlight.

The team return in 2013 as M247 Racing after spending a season out, Joe Girling taking the helm of a Cruze in the S2000 Jack Sears Trophy.