Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
Off RoadRenault UK Clio Cup

Breen, Smith And Jordan Win At Irish Motorsport Awards

1 Mins read

Aron Smith Won At The Motorsport Ireland Awards - Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography


Rally driver Craig Breen, Clio Cup front-runner Aron Smith and BBC F1 pundit Eddie Jordan were amongst the winners at the 2011 Dunlop Motorsport Ireland Champions of Irish Motorsport Awards in Dublin.

Breen won the International Driver of the Year Award for his outstanding 2011 campaign, which saw him win the World Rally Championship Academy after a spectacular win at Wales Rally GB. Smith won the Dunlop Sexton Trophy for Young Racing Driver of the Year after his strong season, which saw him finish runner-up in the AirAsia Renault Clio Cup and make his BTCC debut.

Jordan meanwhile was presented with the Motorsport Ireland Hall of Fame Award for everything that he has contributed to motorsport in Ireland and internationally in the past 40 years. Jordan said: “I am absolutely delighted to be here to accept this prestigious honour. I have had a long association with Motorsport Ireland and it is 20 years ago now since the F1 team started and I am proud that we had so many Irish people centrally involved with the team success.”

Other awards winners included Sam Moffett, who won the Billy Coleman Award for the Young Rally Driver of the Year, Tm McNulty and co-driver Paul Kiely, who picked up their awards for winning the Irish National Rally Championship and Irish Tarmac Championship, and Tom Walsh, who won the Ivan Webb Memorial award for Most Outstanding Contribution to Irish Motorsport.

President of Motorsport Ireland Joe Corcoran said; “Today is about celebrating the achievements of our young drivers in a sport that places enormous demands on their ability and determination to success at the highest level.  All the winners today can be very proud of their successes throughout the year and they are an example for all young people in sport.”

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts

Tony Stewart sweeps SRX dirt races with Eldora win

2 Mins read
Racing at his Eldora Speedway in his Camping World SRX Series, Tony Stewart became the series’ first multi-time winner.

SRX co-founder Tony Stewart wins inaugural dirt race at Knoxville

2 Mins read
Camping World SRX Series co-founder Tony Stewart won his creation’s first-ever non-pavement points race on the dirt at Knoxville.
NASCAROff RoadSim Racing

SRX: The Game set for 28 May launch before inaugural season

2 Mins read
The Superstar Racing Experience’s inaugural season doesn’t start until June, but that’s not stopping them from already releasing a video game. SRX: The Game comes out for PS4, Xbox One, and PC on 28 May.

Leave a Reply