Dixon dominates Friday action at Watkins Glen

Scott Dixon - Credit: Chris Owens / IndyCar

Scott Dixon set the pace in both free practice sessions as the Verizon IndyCar Series made its return to the Watkins Glen International on Friday.

The New Zealander led the heavily disrupted opening session following a crash for Conor Daly by 0.3626 seconds, and then repeated the feat in the second session, albeit by a reduced 0.1587 seconds.

Daly caused a long stoppage in the opening session after losing control of his Dale Coyne Racing machine on the exit of turn six, with the exit kerbs spinning him across the track and into the barriers, with water on those kerbs being blamed.

Twenty minutes were used up to ensure all of the kerbs around the track were dry, but the incident ended Daly’s session and gave his mechanics a lot of work to do to get his car repaired to allow him to participate in the second session.

Dixon hit the top of the time sheets once the session resumed, with the Chip Ganassi Racing driver ending with a best time of 1:23.8921, while KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais ended second fastest, ahead of Team Penske’s Will Power.

Dixon’s team-mate Tony Kanaan and last weekend’s Texas winner Graham Rahal completed the top five.

The second session was also headed by Dixon with a time of 1:22.8740, with Helio Castroneves improving to second for Team Penske after being ninth in the first session, with Power again third, 0.1977 seconds down.

Kanaan again placed fourth, while Team Penske’s Juan Pablo Montoya completed the top five.

The biggest talking points of the session were incidents for Kanaan and for championship leader Simon Pagenaud. Kanaan spun at The Boot, just about avoiding the barriers, but Pagenaud did hit the barriers after his Penske maching got loose at turn seven, ending his session. The Frenchman had finished eleventh in the session, having finished eighth in the first.

Watkins Glen International Free Practice 1 Result

19Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:23.8921
211Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1:24.2547
312Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:24.7401
410Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:24.7934
515Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:24.8563
62Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1:24.8949
721Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:24.9028
822Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:25.0393
93Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:25.1587
1098Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Autosport1:25.2667
1183Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:25.5153
128Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:25.6268
1328Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:25.7017
1414Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1:25.8544
155James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:25.8721
1620Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:25.9610
1719RC EnersonUSADale Coyne Racing1:25.9777
187Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:25.9785
1941Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1:26.0642
2027Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:26.1094
2126Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1:26.1865
2218Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1:27.2666

Watkins Glen International Free Practice 2 Result

19Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:22.8740
23Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:23.0327
312Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:23.0717
410Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:23.1692
52Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1:23.3646
641Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1:23.6279
715Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:23.5963
821Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:23.6279
911Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1:23.6582
108Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:23.7107
1122Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:23.7470
1214Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1:23.7894
1320Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:23.8604
147Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:23.9543
1598Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Autosport1:24.0663
1626Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1:24.1767
1718Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1:24.2625
1883Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:24.2790
1928Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:24.3200
2019RC EnersonUSADale Coyne Racing1:24.5840
215James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:24.8903
2227Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:24.9208