Ellison Breaks Record to Claim Brands Indy Pole

James Ellison - Photo Credit: BritishSuperbike.com

James Ellison set the fastest ever superbike lap of the Brands Hatch Indy circuit to claim pole position for tomorrow’s opening BSB race. The McAMS Yamaha rider was quickest in two of the three sessions, eventually outpacing the two JG Speedfit Kawasakis of Luke Mossey and Leon Haslam who join him on the front row for race one.

One big name had already dropped out of the reckoning before qualifying even started with the news that Davide Giugliano had withdrawn following a crash at Graham Hill bend in FP1. Another of the series’ world-class arrivals was soon eliminated in Q2 with Sylvain Guintoli failing to escape the second session on the Suzuki.

Mossey had previously set the first ever sub-45 second lap of the Indy layout in Q1 but Ellison soon went even faster, clocking a 44.728 to pip the youngster by two tenths. Haslam, who had only just scraped his way through to Q3, took full advantage of his let-off to qualify third, also breaking the 45 second barrier.

The returning Shane Byrne claimed fourth for Be Wiser Ducati ahead of the Moto Rapido Panigale of John Hopkins while Jason O’Halloran gave the new Honda Fireblade its best showing to date, securing the final spot on the second row of the grid. Christian Iddon was seventh on the sole remaining Tyco BMW ahead of a pair of Yamahas with Anvil Hire TAG’s Josh Brookes just edging out McAMS’ Michael Laverty.


2017 MCE British Superbike Championship – Round 2 – Qualifying

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time 
177. James EllisonYamahaMcAMS Yamaha44.728Q3
212. Luke MosseyKawasakiJG Speedfit Kawasaki44.931Q3
391. Leon HaslamKawasakiJG Speedfit Kawasaki44.933Q3
467. Shane ByrneDucatiBe Wiser Ducati Racing Team45.030Q3
521. John HopkinsDucatiMoto Rapido45.044Q3
622. Jason O’HalloranHondaHonda Racing45.120Q3
724. Christian IddonBMWTyco BMW Motorrad45.182Q3
825. Josh BrookesYamahaAnvil Hire TAG Racing45.384Q3
98. Michael LavertyYamahaMcAMS Yamaha45.433Q3
104. Dan LinfootHondaHonda Racing45.298Q2
1196. Jakub SmrzBMWLloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW45.327Q2
126. Taylor MackenzieSuzukiBennetts Suzuki45.379Q2
132. Glenn IrwinDucatiBe Wiser Ducati Racing Team45.391Q2
1427. Jake DixonKawasakiRAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki45.408Q2
1546. Tommy BridewellKawasakiTeam WD4045.502Q2
1650. Sylvain GuintoliSuzukiBennetts Suzuki45.556Q2
1760. Peter HickmanBMWSmiths Racing45.600Q2
188. Shaun WinfieldYamahaAnvil Hire TAG Racing45.674Q2
1928. Bradley RaySuzukiBuildbase Suzuki45.928Q1
203. Billy McConnellKawasakiQuattro Plant FS-3 Racing Kawasaki45.938Q1
2114. Lee JacksonBMWSmiths Racing46.345Q1
2264. Aaron ZanottiYamahaPlatform Hire Yamaha46.547Q1
235. James WestmorelandKawasakiGearlink KawasakiNo TimeQ1
2434. Davide GiuglianoBMWTyco BMW MotorradNo TimeQ1