V8 Supercars

HRT Takes Last Gasp Win

2 Mins read

Holden Racing Team duo Garth Tander and Will Davison took victory in the L&H 500 at Phillip Island thanks to a last lap pass for the lead.

The #2 car had been near the front for the whole race, and had briefly lead earlier on when Tander overtook the Team Vodafone car of Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup on Lap 87, only for the lead to change back 11 laps later.

But with 3 laps remaining, Lowndes right front tyre started to deflate, giving Tander the opportunity he needed to catch and pass the ailing Ford Falcon with only half a lap to go.

This gave HRT their second consecutive Phillip Island 500 win, but has made little difference in the title chase, with Whincup still out in front.

Kelly Racing duo Todd and Rick Kelly were robbed of a potential podium place midway through the race, where a problem with the seatbelt cost Todd some time in his middle stint, and gave the FPR car of Steven Richards and Mark Winterbottom 3rd place, and the Jim Beam Racing car of James Courtney and Steven Johnson 4th.

Behind the 5th placed Kelly Racing car was the second of the Jim Beam Racing cars, with Jonathon Webb and Warren Luff at the wheel. Completing the top 10 were Russell Ingall/Tim Slade for Supercheap Auto Racing , Craig Baird/Paul Dumbrell in the second HRT car, Dean Canto and Luke Youlden in the second FPR car, and the Stone Brothers Racing Ford of Alex Davison and Shane van Gisbergen.

The race itself was reasonably clean, bar two Safety Cars, firstly for Fabian Coulthard‘s Ford dropping oil on the circuit after an engine failure, then Cameron McConville and Steven Owen smashing into each other at Turn 1, with McConville’s car spinning through the gravel trap, and across the grass to the exit of Turn 2, luckily avoiding contact with any other cars in the process. However left-front suspension damage from the clash forced the Team BOC car to retire on the spot.

Strangest of all though was McConville’s team-mate Brad Jones having an identical incident only 10 laps later, but this time the other BOC car was not the victim. Lee Holdsworth‘s #33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden sustained broken front-left suspension in the second incident, but this time managed to slow the car in time to avoid re-joining the track backwards like McConville. He too would have to retire due to the damage suffered.

Pos  Drivers                   Make                  Time
 1.  W Davison/G Tander        Holden Commodore VE   3:09:47.8436
 2.  Lowndes/Whincup           Ford Falcon FG        +     2.6729
 3.  S Richards/Winterbottom   Ford Falcon FG        +    10.3395
 4.  Courtney/Johnson          Ford Falcon FG        +    13.3435
 5.  R Kelly/T Kelly           Holden Commodore VE   +    52.0102
 6.  Luff/Webb                 Ford Falcon FG        +    59.8844
 7.  Ingall/Slade              Holden Commodore VE   +  1:08.5128
 8.  Baird/Dumbrell            Holden Commodore VE   +  1:11.3889
 9.  Canto/Youlden             Ford Falcon FG        +  1:14.9051
10.  A Davison/van Gisbergen   Ford Falcon FG        +  1:17.2577
11.  Murphy/Skaife             Holden Commodore VE   +  1:17.9855
12.  Owen/Price                Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap
13.  Besnard/Ritter            Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap
14.  Perkins/Wood              Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap
15.  D'Alberto/Thompson        Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap
16.  Priaulx/Reynolds          Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap
17.  Gaunt/McIntyre            Ford Falcon FG        +     1 lap
18.  Collins/Pretty            Holden Commodore VE   +     2 laps
19.  L Tander/Wall             Ford Falcon BF        +     2 laps
20.  Fisher/Sieders            Ford Falcon BF        +     2 laps
21.  Simonsen/Thompson         Ford Falcon FG        +     2 laps
22.  McNally/Ricciardello      Holden Commodore VE   +    12 laps
23.  Assaillit/Lowe            Ford Falcon BF        +    20 laps
24.  Douglas/Walter            Holden Commodore VE   +    21 laps

Not classified/retirements:

     Drivers                   Make                  Laps
     Bright/Reindler           Ford Falcon FG         92
     A Jones/B Jones           Holden Commodore VE    80
     O Kelly/Morris            Holden Commodore VE    62
     Bargwanna/Noske           Holden Commodore VE    46
     Caruso/Holdsworth         Holden Commodore VE    31
     McConville/J Richards     Holden Commodore VE    20
     Coulthard/Patrizi         Ford Falcon FG          4
     Fiore/Bayliss             Holden Commodore VE     0
450 posts

About author
Alasdair Lindsay is a Regular Contributor to TCF and can be found on twitter at @AlasdairLindsay
Related posts
NASCAR Cup SeriesV8 Supercars

Brodie Kostecki interested in 2023 NASCAR run

2 Mins read
Supercars Championship driver Brodie Kostecki is eyeing a (return) trip to America to début in the NASCAR Cup Series, according to a report by Speedcafe.
Stadium SUPER TrucksV8 Supercars

Dave Casey moves from Boost Mobile Super Trucks to V8 SuperUtes

2 Mins read
After the demise of the Boost Mobile Super Trucks, Dave Casey is moving to another truck racing discipline: he will race in the V8 SuperUte Series for Sieders Racing.
British GTBritish SuperbikeDTMF4 British ChampionshipFeaturesFIA World RallycrossFormula 1Formula EIndyCarV8 Supercars

TCF PICKS 2017: Moment of the year

7 Mins read
The TCF Team chooses their moments from the 2017 that stuck out to them