Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
V8 Supercars

Tander & Davison win Bathurst 1000

2 Mins read

Holden Racing Team team-mates Garth Tander and Will Davison claimed victory at Mount Panorama, clawing back vital points in the title race to the 888 car of Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes.

The #2 HRT car had been running near the front all race, and clearly had the pace to take the win. However, it was only in the closing laps that Tander retook the lead, after Greg Ritter and Greg Murphy had to make a pitstop under caution.

But it almost went pear-shaped for Tander, when at the restart he was too aggressive passing lapped traffic and lost momentum on the run up the mountain. Rick Kelly capitalised on Tander’s error but was forced wide and was left defending from cars behind for the remaining laps with an ailing Holden Commodore.

HRT’s title rivals, Team Vodafone were initally looking good for victory, but a clutch problem on Lap 25 forced them to pit, dropping them to 4th. They later lost another place after a collision with Jason Bargwanna on Lap 156, letting several cars past.

Jason Richards and  team-mate Cameron McConville finished 2nd after jumping from 6th on the second-last restart, but ran out of laps to catch the lead HRT car. The lead Garry Rogers Motorsport car of Michael Caruso and Lee Holdsworth rounded out the podium despite a spin and being 6th with under 10 laps remaining. But they jumped the Bargwanna/Whincup collision and also overtook the Kelly Racing car with 3 laps to go.

On the other hand, Ford Performance Racing had a miserable weekend, the lead car of Mark Winterbottom and Steven Richards catching fire and the second car of Dean Canto and Luke Youlden crashing out later on.

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Results

Pos  Drivers                   Make                  Time
 1.  W Davison/G Tander        Holden Commodore VE   6:40:02.4884
 2.  McConville/J Richards     Holden Commodore VE   +     0.7599
 3.  Caruso/Holdsworth         Holden Commodore VE   +     3.3842
 4.  Murphy/Skaife             Holden Commodore VE   +     3.3884
 5.  Lowndes/Whincup           Ford Falcon FG        +     4.6582
 6.  Bargwanna/Noske           Holden Commodore VE   +     5.9490
 7.  Morris/Slade              Holden Commodore VE   +     8.0320
 8.  R Kelly/T Kelly           Holden Commodore VE   +    10.3412
 9.  Besnard/Ritter            Holden Commodore VE   +    10.4702
10.  D'Alberto/A Thompson      Holden Commodore VE   +    10.7202
11.  Bright/Reindler           Ford Falcon FG        +    12.7196
12.  Priaulx/Reynolds          Holden Commodore VE   +    12.8611
13.  A Davison/van Gisbergen   Ford Falcon FG        +  1:09.2833
14.  Perkins/Wood              Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap
15.  Ingall/O Kelly            Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap
16.  Owen/Price                Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap
17.  McNally/Ricciardello      Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap
18.  L Tander/Wall             Ford Falcon BF        +     1 lap
19.  Gaunt/McIntyre            Ford Falcon FG        +     1 lap
20.  Collins/Pretty            Holden Commodore VE   +     5 laps
21.  Baird/Dumbrell            Holden Commodore VE   +     8 laps
22.  Assaillit/Lowe            Ford Falcon BF        +    10 laps
23.  A Jones/B Jones           Holden Commodore VE   +    16 laps
24.  Courtney/Johnson          Ford Falcon FG        +    30 laps

Not classified/retirements:

     Drivers                   Make                  Laps
     Simonsen/J Thompson       Ford Falcon FG         152
     Canto/Youlden             Ford Falcon FG         139
     Coulthard/Patrizi         Ford Falcon FG         120
     Luff/Webb                 Ford Falcon FG          84
     Douglas/Walter            Holden Commodore VE     84
     Bayliss/Fiore             Holden Commodore VE     59
     S Richards/Winterbottom   Ford Falcon FG          49
     Sieders/Fisher            Ford Falcon BF          22
450 posts

About author
Alasdair Lindsay is a Regular Contributor to TCF and can be found on twitter at @AlasdairLindsay
Related posts
British GTBritish SuperbikeDTMF4 British ChampionshipFeaturesFIA World RallycrossFormula 1Formula EIndyCarV8 Supercars

TCF PICKS 2017: Moment of the year

7 Mins read
The TCF Team chooses their moments from the 2017 that stuck out to them
IndyCarV8 Supercars

Simona de Silvestro not ruling out Indy 500 return

1 Mins read
The ‘Swiss Miss’ Simona de Silvestro is not ruling out a return to the Indianapolis 500 despite committing herself to racing in Australia in Supercars.
Global RallycrossV8 Supercars

Tony Cochrane heads to Red Bull GRC

1 Mins read
Ex-V8 Supercars man joins Red Bull GRC as a special advisor to the board