WTCC Independents Prize Fund Increased

The WTCC Independents prize fund has increased by another 72,000 Euro's due to Monroe introducing the Monroe Performer Trophy, which will reward the fastest Independent drivers.

The trophy will see the driver who claims the fastest Independent lap given 3,000 Euro's, and this will be available during each race. Stefano D'Aste proved himself as the fastest Independent driver last year, by setting 8 fastest laps during the season.

Marcello Lotti, the General Manager of KSO, commented on this announcement “We are very grateful to MONROE, who recently joined WTCC as an official partner, for their generosity. The MONROE Performer 72,000-euro prize money comes on top of the 480,000 Euros awarded by the Yokohama Independents’ Trophy, increasing the total prize money to an amazing 552,000 Euros,”

Along with the independent drivers being rewarded for their fastest laps, the driver, works or independent, which sets the races fastest lap, will get a Monroe Performer limited edition TW Steel Watch and a WTCC Limited edition Marzotti Mountain bike.