2010 FIA World Touring Car Championship entry list released

2 Mins read

The full season entry list for the 2010 FIA WTCC has been released, with 20 drivers confirmed for full season campaigns.

The 20 confirmed drivers will come from 15 different countries, in 3 different types of car manufacturer, and it is expected that race by race entries will expand the field even more during the season, with the potential for more manufacturers to enter during the season.

The entry list sees a reduced number of works entries, after Seat withdrew and BMW scaled back. LADA don't feature on the entry list for the coming season, something which the FIA are looking into, as KSO's General Manager, Marcello Lotti, explains: “We were surprised and disappointed, because in 2009 they undertook a commitment for a three-year programme. This is now a matter for the FIA to deal with.”

The 2010 season also sees a number of new teams and drivers enter the Championship for the first time, something Lotti is pleased to see: “It is very rewarding for us to see young drivers and teams joining the championship. The new entries from bamboo-engineering and Zengö-Dension Team, the arrival of promising youngsters like Michelisz and Vaulkhard and the full commitment of drivers coming from new regions – Bennani from Morocco and O'Young from China – are testament to the WTCC's worldwide reputation.”

On the whole entry list, Lotti commented:  “We are proud that we managed to maintain a high quality field in this challenging economic environment. Most of our regular drivers and teams are still with us, which guarantees continuity in the growth of the championship's popularity. We are grateful to BMW and Chevrolet who renewed their trust in the championship confirming their factory programmes. And we also thank SEAT because, although no longer competing with an official team, the brand made a big effort to guarantee a strong representation of customers teams that will be provided by SEAT Sport with the necessary technical support.”

The entry list, released by KSO today:

Car Number Competitor Driver Car
1 SR-Sport Gabriele Tarquini (ITA) Seat Leon 2.0 TDi
2 SR-Sport Tom Coronel (NED) Seat Leon 2.0 TDi
3 SR-Sport Tiago Monteiro (POR) Seat Leon 2.0 TDi
4 SR-Sport Jordi Gene (ESP) Seat Leon 2.0 TDi
5 Zengo-Dension Team Norbert Michelisz (HUN) Seat Leon TDi
6 Chevrolet Yvan Muller (FRA) Chevrolet Cruze LT
7 Chevrolet Rob Huff (GBR) Chevrolet Cruze LT
8 Chevrolet Alain Menu (SUI) Chevrolet Cruze LT
10 BMW Team RBM Augusto Farfus Jnr (BRA) BMW 320Si
11 BMW Team RBM Andy Priaulx (GBR) BMW 320Si
15 Liqui Moly Team Engstler Franz Engstler (GER) BMW 320Si
16 Liqui Moly Team Engstler Andrei Romanov (RUS) BMW 320Si
17 Sunred Engineering Michel Nykjaer (Den) Seat Leon 2.0 TDi
19 Bamboo engineering Harry Vaulkhard (GBR) Chevrolet Lacetti
20 Bamboo engineering Darryl O'Young (HKG) Chevrolet Lacetti
21 Wiechers-Sport Mehdi Bennani (MAR) BMW 320si
23 Colak Racing Marin Colak (CRO) Seat Leon 2.0 TFSi
24 Poulsen Motorsport Kristian Poulsen (DEN) BMW 320Si
25 Scuderia Proteam Motorsport Sergio Hernandez (ESP) BMW 320Si
26 Scuderia Proteam Motorsport Stefano D'Aste (ITA) BMW 320Si
347 posts

About author
You can find Matt on twitter at @mattaugerracing
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.