Off Road

Pastrana wins Rally America opener

2 Mins read

Reigning Rally America champion Travis Pastrana took victory at the Sno*Drift Rally, the first round of the season, in extremely slick road conditions.

Pastrana and co-driver Christian Edstrom built a solid early lead and continued to put time on the rest of the field over the course of the two-day rally – despite a badly injured left shoulder.

“I’m really excited, everybody next rally is going to come with a sling!” joked Pastrana. “As slick a the roads were out here, I drove as smooth as I could – for the shoulder – and it made me focus a little bit more,” he said at the finish. “It was probably the best thing that could have happened for us.”

Over a minute back was former Canadian champion Antoine L’Estage in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, only running selected events this season.

“I was hoping to be closer to Travis and fight for the win but he was the fastest this weekend. It was such a tough rally with crazy conditions – glare ice on all the stages.”

The ‘crazy conditions’ claimed some high profile victims – on day one Ken Block had retired due to suspension faiure – and today BMX star turned rally driver Dave Mirra took a trip through a snowbank while in fourth place, only then to hit a tree on the following stage. He salvaged 6th place by the finish – but with his Impreza shedding parts as it crossed the line, mangled after his multiple off-road incidents.

Mirra wasn’t the only one – Andrew Comrie-Picard also got stuck in a snowbank, this time on Stage 9, and had to be helped out by another driver. However he managed to hang on to 4th place, in a rally where finishing at all was an achievement.

This means Pastrana takes all 10 points and leads the title race heading to the 100 Acre Wood Rally in late February.

Rally Results

O/A Car # Class I/C Driver / CoDriver Time Diff Leader Diff Previous
1 199 O 1 Travis Pastrana / Christian Edstrom
2010 Subaru Impreza WRX STI
2:31:01.1 0:00.0 0:00.0
2 17 O 2 Antoine L’Estage / Nathalie Richard
2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X
2:32:38.8 1:37.7 1:37.7
3 68 O 3 William Bacon / Peter Watt
2006 Mitsubishi EVO IX
2:37:40.8 6:39.7 5:02.0
4 20 O 4 Andrew Comrie-Picard / Jeremy Wimpey
2007 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolutio
2:45:28.2 14:27.1 7:47.4
5 523 SP 1 Travis Hanson / Terry Hanson
2007 Subaru Impreza WRX STI
2:48:05.1 17:04.0 2:36.9
6 40 O 5 Dave Mirra / Derek Ringer
2010 Subaru Impreza WRX STI
2:55:50.9 24:49.8 7:45.8
7 693 O 6 Carl Decker / Adam M Craig
1993 Subaru Impreza
2:58:08.2 27:07.1 2:17.3
8 61 SP 2 Piotr Wiktorczyk / Grzegorz Dorman
2007 Subaru Impreza WRX STi
2:58:21.1 27:20.0 0:12.9
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Kristoffersson Wins Controversial Final on Barcelona Day Two

2 Mins read
Johan Kristoffersson has finally broken his Sunday curse and taken a win on a Sunday after a controversial eighth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Barcelona.
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Ekström Takes Top Qualifier on Day Two in Barcelona

4 Mins read
A great recovery after yesterday’s struggles secured Mattias Ekström the Top Qualifier spot in Sunday’s round of the 2020 FIA World Rallycross Championship in Spain.
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Timmy Hansen Takes Stunning Win on Day One in Barcelona

2 Mins read
A great tyre strategy combined with an amazing drive from Timmy Hansen saw him secure his first win of the year in round seven of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Barcelona.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply