Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24

Seat Eurocup Champion in WTCC Graduation

1 Mins read

Norbert Michelisz, the 25 year old from Hungary has confirmed he is to graduate into the WTCC at the wheel of a Seat Leon TDi, run by the team he won the 2009 Seat Eurocup title in, Zengo Denison Motorsport. Michelisz took 5 race victories en route to claiming the title this year.

Michelisz, who made his debut at Okayama in 2008, became the first driver from the Eurocup support series to qualify inside the top 10 of the WTCC, when he started in tenth for the opening race at Brands Hatch in July.

The team have a brace of TDi cars, which are being shipped out to Brazil, and although no driver is confirmed for the second seat, it's widely expected to be one of the Seat works drivers.

Michelisz is the third confirmed Seat TDi runner, after Tom Coronel and Michel Nykjaer, both in the Sunred outfit. This year's WTCC won't be Michelisz's first time at the wheel of a TDi Seat. In the one off FIA ETCC at Braga, Michelisz drove a TDi Leon taking pole and race one victory en route to third overall behind James Thompson and Franz Engstler.

Michelisz, before joining the Seat Eurocup grid won national Hungarian titles in the Suzuki Swift Cup along with the Hungarian Renault Clio Cup.

The 2010 FIA WTCC kicks off at Curitiba in Brazil on the 5th to the 7th March, and culminates at Macau on the 19th to 21st November.

347 posts

About author
You can find Matt on twitter at @mattaugerracing
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.