WTCC adopts F1 points system and clarifies compensation weights

1 Mins read

The FIA has announced the the 2010 WTCC season will see a change to the points system, with the international series adopting the same scoring system as Formula 1.

Following a vote by competitors and confirmation by the members of the World Motor Sport Council the change will come in to effect immediately.

Points will be awarded at each event according to the following scale:

1st: 25 points; 2nd: 18 pts; 3rd: 15 pts; 4th: 12 pts: 5th: 10 pts; 6th: 8pts; 7th: 6 pts; 8th: 4 pts; 9th: 2 pts; 10th: 1 point

The points system was also recently taken up by the World Rally Championship.

Along with the points announcement the compensation weights have been confirmed for the WTCC cars, based on lap time calculations from the two fastest cars of each model in both races, these times will be taken over a period of three rounds and averaged out on a rolling basis.

For the opening round the cars will weigh in as follows:

BMW 320si: 1155kg
Chevrolet Cruze: 1150kg
Chevrolet Lacetti: 1140kg (as per the -10kg waiver granted by the Touring Car Committee)
SEAT León TDI: 1170kg
SEAT León TFSI: 1150kg

Avatar photo
3027 posts

About author
Founder and Editor-In-Chief of The Checkered Flag who grew up visiting race circuits around the UK also a freelance motorsport PR officer. Outside of motorsport a lover of music, photography, NBA and NFL.
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.