ETCC 2010 Round 1: Race 2 – Local hero Campanico wins, Thompson leads overall

2 Mins read

Local hero Cesar Campanico has taken victory in the second race of the day at Braga, in Portugal, as he led home race one rivals Kristian Poulsen (Poulsen Motorsport) and reigning Champion James Thompson.

Off the line, pole man Yuriy Protasov (Bevz Kostantyn) made a solid start in his older E46 BMW 320i, but lost the lead into the braking zone for the first corner to former WTCC Independent Ibrahim Okyay (Borusan Otomotiv Motorsport). Behind the BMW train, Sunred Engineering's young Frenchman Michael Rossi was spinning into retirement after contact with the Honda Accord of Tomas Engstrom.

By the end of the opening lap, Okyay was under pressure from both Campanico and Poulsen while Thompson had made it as far as fourth, passing pole sitter Protasov and Marin Colak (Colak Racing team) in the same move.

Lap 3 saw the leading 3 BMW's all together, and Campanico made his move, firstly passing Poulsen for second before passing Okyay for the lead, coming out of turns 5 and 6. Campanico then put hi9s head down and never looked back.

Straight away, Okyay then lost another spot as Poulsen took second away from the Turkish racer, with Thompson closing up rapidly. Thompson made his move on lap 6 to take third from Okyay, and wasn't challenged by Okyay, but wasn't able to pull away either.

The rest of the race saw the battle for fifth intensify, between the Petrol powered Seat Leon's of young Russian Timur Sadredinov (Sunred Engineering) and Croatian Colak, with Sadredinov winning the battle of the Leon's on the penultimate lap of the race.

In the S1600 class, ATM Racing's Jens Lohnig backed up his race 1 class victory with the class win in race 2, and with it the class lead, while the only Super Production racer, Mircis Birkens, didn't take the start due to the engine problems which caused his retirement in race 1.

The Nations cup for Braga was awarded to the MSA of Great Britain, for Thompson's win and third place.

The next rounds of the 2010 FIA European Touring Car Cup take place in Austria, at the 4.2km Salzburgring on the 24th and 25th July.

Position Number Class Driver Car Gap Fastest Lap
1 9 S2000 Cesar Campanico BMW 320si E90 24:05.156 1:23.777
2 11 S2000 Kristian Poulsen BMW 320si E90 +2.178 1:23.954
3 1 S2000 James Thompson Honda Accord Euro R +16.355 1:24.022
4 13 S2000 Ibrahim Okyay BMW 320si E90 +19.267 1:24.454
5 8 S2000 Timur Sadredinov Seat Leon 2.0 TFSi +46.879 1:25.525
6 3 S2000 Marin Colak Seat Leon 2.0 TFSi +55.236 1:25.115
7 2 S2000 Tomas Engstrom Honda Accord Euro R +1:06.665 1:25.357
8 6 S2000 Yuriy Protasov BMW 320i E46 +1:15.409 1:26.154
9 7 S2000 Leonid Protasov BMW 320i E46 + 1 lap 1:30.286
10 72 S1600 Jens Lohnig Ford Fiesta ST + 1 lap 1:30.619
11 71 S1600 Carsten Seifert Ford Fiesta ST + 1 lap 1:31.776
12 5 S2000 Irina Protasova BMW 320i E46 + 1 lap 1:30.144
13 73 S1600 Florian Heitmeier Ford Fiesta ST + 1 lap 1:32.547
DNF 12 S2000 Michael Rossi Seat Leon 2.0 TFSi DNF N/A
DNS 51 SP Mircis Birkens Honda Civic Type R DNS N/A

Standings after Rounds 1 and 2: S2000:

Position Number Driver Nation Team Points
1 1 James Thompson GBR Hartmann Honda Racing 16
2 9 Cesar Campanico POR Novadriver Racing Team 15
3 11 Kristian Poulsen DEN Poulsen Motorsport 14
4 2 Tomas Engstrom SWE Hartmann Honda Racing 10
5 13 Ibrahim Okyay TUR Borusan Otomotiv Motorsport 9
6 3 Marin Colak CRO Colak Racing Team 5
7 8 Timur Sanredinov RUS Sunred Engineering 4
8 12 Michael Rossi FRA Sunred Engineering 3
9 6 Yuriy Protasov UKR Bevz Kostantyn 3


Position Number Driver Nation Team Points
1 72 Jens Lohnig GER ATM Racing 20
2 71 Carsten Seifert GER NK Racing Team 16
3 73 Florian Heirmeier GER NK Racing Team 12
347 posts

About author
You can find Matt on twitter at @mattaugerracing
Related posts
DakarETCCFIA World Rally Championship

Rally champion Tihomir Filipovic dies at 67

1 Mins read
Tihomir Filipović, Croatian star in rally and hillclimbing in the 1980s and 1990s who also raced in touring cars and Dakar, passed away Wednesday from illness. He was 67.

Monje Claims European Title Ahead Of WTCC Return

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will have a newly-crowned European champion on the grid for the upcoming overseas events, after Fernando Monje secured the European Touring Car Cup title at Imola last weekend.

Monje Dominates ETC Cup Races In Preparation For WTCC Bow

1 Mins read
Former single-seater racer Fernando Monje set himself up perfectly ahead of his World Touring Car Championship debut with a dominant double victory in the two European Touring Car Cup races at Monza.