Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
Formula Palmer Audi

Moore joins the Formula Palmer Audi grid

2 Mins read

Nigel Moore, the 2007 Ginetta Jnr Champion and the 2008 Ginetta G50 Champion is to race in the Formula Palmer Audi Championship in 2010.

This move sees the youngster from Yorkshire making his open wheel formula debut in the series which offers the highest prize fund in any UK Motorsport, a £100,000 scholarship for the 2011 FIA Formula 2 Championship.

Moore will race in a series which has seen 9 drivers graduate into Formula 1 since it was set up by Jonathon Palmer in 1998, including Justin Wilson, as well as drivers like Andy Priaulx, who has since gone on to become a triple FIA World Touring Car Championship Champion. The series has also provided the springboard for drivers to move into other top line series internationally, such as the IRL, DTM, WTCC, FIA GT and the BTCC.

Moore, who in 2009 became the youngest British driver to compete at Le Mans, will exchange his Ginetta for a 1.8l, 300bhp turbocharged single seat race car, and will compete in 20 events between May and October.

“I’m just ecstatic to be given this chance by Lawrence and Jonathan. The driving talent to come up through FPA speaks for itself and there couldn’t be any bigger incentive to go all out for the title, than the chance to win an F2 scholarship for 2011. I can’t wait to test my new FPA car, the over boost feature is going to make for some very close racing and that’s just the kind of on-track action that I am best at!” was Moore's reaction to the deal, and will race the normal Ginetta 'orange' and will race the number 6 Audi powered car – the same number as his Ginetta-Zytek LMP1 car.

The Chairman of Ginetta, Lawrence Tomlinson said about the announcement: “Formula Palmer Audi is a natural step for Nigel and I’m delighted that he will get the chance to prove his driving capabilities in such a high profile series. Jonathan and his team have established FPA as one of the best single-seater championships in Europe, as well as spawning some major talents and I am confident that Nigel will be a genuine contender for the title this year.”

Jonathon Palmer added: “The motorsport world has been well aware of Nigel’s considerable driving talents as he’s progressed through the Ginetta ladder over the past three years and I’m absolutely delighted to have a name of his calibre added to the 2010 line up. We’re delighted to be offering such an incredible prize for our 2010 drivers and I know Nigel is definitely going to be ‘one to watch’.”

Moore's debut in the FPA Championship occurs at Brands Hatch over the 8th and 9th May.

Photo credit: FPA

Related posts
Circuit NewsFormula 1Formula Palmer AudiIMSAIndyCar

Justin Wilson to have Snetterton Corner Named in his Honour

1 Mins read
Because of his close relationship with Jonathan Palmer, the late Justin Wilson will have a corner named after him at the Snetterton Circuit.
Formula Palmer Audi

Curtain Closes On Formula Palmer Audi After 13 Years

2 Mins read
A popular British motor racing series played out its final battles in 2010, as the Formula Palmer Audi Championship comes to a…
Formula 2Formula Palmer Audi

Nigel Moore Wins £100,000 F2 Scholarship

1 Mins read
Nigel Moore has been awarded a £100,000 Formula Two Scholarship prize after winning the 2010 Formula Palmer Audi title. The 18-year-old Yorkshireman…

Leave a Reply