Rookie Challenge for WTCC newcomers

The body that promotes the WTCC, KSO, has announced that for 2010, there will be the WTCC Rookie Challenge.

The challenge is for drivers who are entering the WTCC for a full campaign for the first time are eligible with the winner being awarded a trophy at the end of season party in Macau.

The eligible drivers for this season's WTCC Rookie Challenge are:

  • Norbert Michelisz – Seat Leon TDi
  • Michel Nykjaer – Seat Leon TDi
  • Fredy Barth – Seat Leon TDi
  • Harry Vaulkhard – Chevrolet Lacetti
  • Darryl O'Young – Chevrolet Lacetti
  • Mehdi Bennani – BMW 320Si

The points will be awarded:

  1. 10 points
  2. 8 points
  3. 6 points
  4. 5 points
  5. 4 points
  6. 3 points
  7. 2 points
  8. 1 point

Marcello Lotti explains how the WTCC Rookie Challenge came about: “We have a number of young drivers who joined the championship this year for the whole season and this gave us the idea to establish this Rookie Challenge to encourage and reward the new competitors.”