Superstars Series 2010 is go

The 2010 running of the Italian Superstars series has been launched with an exclusive live showing of the championship opening press conference, held at the Vallelunga Conference centre.

The series, which is promoted by FG Group's Roma Formula Futuro, saw big name drivers Johnny Herbert, Gianni Morbidelli and the first female in the Superstars series, Michela Cerruti were joined by the FG Group President Maurizio Flammini and Andrea Del Canuto, the Rights Acquisition Manager of La7 on the main stage for the televised press conference.

Flammini highlighted how the series has grown into the “state of the art in world car racing.” With the Championship featuring 9 different car manufacturers, Audi, BMW, Cadillac, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Jaguar, Maserati, Mercedes and Porsche, and with former Formula 1 drivers in the series as well, Johnny Herbert, current Champion Gianni Morbidelli, Andrea Chiesa and Mimmo Schiattarella, as well as former World Cup skier Kristian Ghedina.

The Superstars Series will be supported in 2010 by the Superstars GT Sprint, a new FIA Approved Championship running GT races lasting 25 minutes plus a single lap.

Del Canuto then went and underlined the value of the La7 in motorsport, as they will be providing the only free-to-air racing away from Formula 1.

The opening round of the Superstars series takes place at Monza over the 27th and 28th March.

Ahead of the Monza round, the drivers have had a collective test session, and the Superstars class was topped by the BMW Team Italia driver of Thomas Biagi, and behind Biagi were team mates Morbidelli, Luca Cappellari and Stefano Gabellini, as well as the Chevrolet Lumina CR8 of Johnny Herbert.

The Superstars GTSprint was topped by Niki Cadei and Cedric Sbirazzuoli in their Ferrari F430 GT2, prepared by AF Corse, and their best time was a 1m34.726. Close behind them were the other Ferrari's of Alessandro Bonetti and Maurizio Mediani, prepared by Vittoria

Competizioni which beat the RT Edil Cris car of Glauco Solieri.

The GT3 class was topped by the Corvette C6 of Carlo Graziani, GT4 was topped by the Maserati GT of Fabio Venier, and the Ferrari 430 of Thomas Kemenater topped the GT Cup class.