Renault UK Clio Cup

Elf Renault Clio Cup 2010 Round 1 – Thruxton, Race 2: Pattison Claims Hard Fought Maiden Win

4 Mins read

JHR Developments Lee Pattison has claimed his maiden victory in the Elf Renault Clio Cup after coming out on top of a tight, hard but clean four way tussle for the lead around the 2.35 mile Thruxton airfield circuit.

Pole position for the second race went the way of forty-two year old Dave Newsham, the winner of the opening round of the season with second year driver Jake Packun joining the Highland racer on the front row, and the leading Graduate cup runner on the grid.

As part of the series overhaul, a new grid drop system has been implemented and David Dickenson was given a two place drop after picking up two penalty points for an incident during the first race.

As in race one, pole sitter Newsham made the most of his qualifying result as he made the best start and took the lead into Allard, the first corner. Behind Newsham, Pattison made a fast start which meant he got past the Graduate cup runners, Packun and Sam Tordoff.

Behind the top four, Mike Robinson had started a climb up the field as the series youngest driver in 2010, seventeen year old James Colburn slipped back to ninth at the end of the opening lap of twelve.

Up at the Complex on the second lap, Total Control Racing's Sam Tordoff found his way back up to the podium finishing positions as he passed Packun for third, and the leading four drivers remained in the same order until the midway stage. Coming through Church, Pattison had clawed his way onto the bumper of the #4 Team Pyro Clio of Newsham, but the ex Scottish legends racer used his experience and closed the door.

Behind the quartet, the YRC sponsored JHR Developments car of Fulvio Mussi dropped out of a top five position after a spin at the fastest corner in British Motorsport, Church.

The subsequent laps saw a four Clio convoy for the lead, which appeared to have been resolved on lap ten as Pattison found a way past Newsham at Noble, before losing the lead back to the Highlander at Church, while the third place battle saw Packun find his way past Tordoff at the Club chicane.

The following lap saw the lead battle resolved. Newsham had a fuel surge which caused his Clio to lose power, this gave Pattison, Packun and Tordoff the opportunity to pass the forty-two year old and claim a podium finish each. Even with Newsham's fuel problem, the top four couldn't be separated.

The final lap didn't see any changes between the quartet and Pattison took his first win in the Clio Cup and JHR's first win of the season ahead of the Graduate cup winner Packun and Tordoff, with race one winner Newsham crossing the line fourth. At the line, 1.270s covered the top four; this proved that the crowds are in for an exciting season of Clio Cup action, even with the reduced grid size.

Packun set a new lap record en route to second place; his best ever finish in the Clio Cup, his best lap time being a 1m24.079s on lap four.

After the spin which Mussi suffered early into the twelve lap encounter, the JHR Developments driver was unable to climb up the field and crossed the line in thirteenth position, while Keatingsdown's Dickenson saw his weekend go from bad to worse after he was penalised for an incident with Colburn, relegating him to eleventh overall.

Speaking after the race, a delighted Pattison said: “I'm very happy with the win especially after a disappointing day on Saturday. In round two I was able to put pressure on Newsham particularly through the first complex where he seemed slower. I chose my moment and with a bit of luck I was able to grab the lead and stay there.”

For Packun, his winter driver coaching has paid off as he explains: “It's been a great start to the year for us and I'm delighted with my first podium in round one especially as I'm not strong in the wet. Over the winter BTCC driver Paul O'Neil has been coaching me and it's undoubtedly paid off and now I'm just looking forward to the next rounds.”

For Tordoff, he is looking for consistency as he aims for the 2010 title: “Pattison put up a good fight in race one and then after that it was touch and go between me and Dave. I was faster up to Noble but Dave was quicker after that. I just needed a few more laps. Round two was another good race and overall I'm really pleased with my consistency this weekend as that's what wins championships.”

Race one winner Newsham said: “It's been a good weekend for us and I'm pleased to start the season off with a win. In round one I had to keep one eye forward and one eye looking in my mirrors because Sam was driving superbly plus I was struggling a little from understeer. It was a great race and it's a shame I couldn't repeat it in round two which was hampered by a fuel surge.”

The next rounds of the 2010 Elf Renault Clio Cup take place at Rockingham, Northamptonshire on the 24/25 April.

Race Results Race Two

Position Number Driver Team Time Gap
1 5 Lee Pattison JHR Developments 17:02.654s
2 47 Jake Packun Elite Motorsport 17:03.392s 0.738s
3 44 Sam Tordoff Total Control Racing 17:03.726s 1.072s
4 4 Dave Newsham Team Pyro 17:03.924s 1.270s
5 22 Mike Robinson Total Control Racing 17:09.864s 7.210s
6 2 Tom Carnaby JHR Developments 17:10.223s 7.569s
7 1 Jeff Smith Team Pyro 17:10.955s 8.301s
8 33 Jack Goff Team Pyro 17:17.325s 14.671s
9 46 Robert Gaffney Westbourne Motorsport 17:17.659s 15.005s
10 9 James Colburn Westbourne Motorsport 17:21.741s 19.087s
11 88 David Dickinson Team Pyro 17:21.983s 19.329s
12 18 Patrick Collins Westbourne Motorsport 17:22.337s 19.683s
13 23 Fulvio Mussi JHR Developments 17:39.189s 36.535s
14 10 Darren Wilson 20Ten Racing Limited 17:48.519s 45.865s
15 15 Matthew Munson Stancombe Vehicle Engineering 17:54.480s 51.826s

Standings after two of twenty races:

Position Driver Points
1 Dave Newsham 56
2 Jake Packun 55
3 Sam Tordoff 53
4 Lee Pattison 50
5 Tom Carnaby 34
6 Mike Robinson 34
7 James Colburn 33
8 Fulvio Mussi 28
9 Jack Goff 26
10 Jeff Smith 26
11 Robert Gaffney 21
12 David Dickenson 19
13 Patrick Collins 17
14 Darren Wilson 14
15 Matthew Munson 12

Bold – Masters/Italics – Graduate Cup

Photo credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

347 posts

About author
You can find Matt on twitter at @mattaugerracing
Related posts
Renault UK Clio Cup

Clio Cup UK Championship Postponed until 2021

1 Mins read
The 2020 Renault Sport Racing Clio Cup Championship has been postponed until 2021 due to the effects of the recent Coronavirus Pandemic
Renault UK Clio CupTCR Europe

Jack Young graduates from Clio Cup to TCR Europe

1 Mins read
17 year-old Jack Young will step up into a TCR-spec Renault Megane for the rest of the season.
Renault UK Clio Cup

All change at the top of the Renault UK Clio Cup standings following Oulton Park

2 Mins read
Jack Young and Max Coates won at Oulton Park. However, it’s all change at the top of the table