Formula Ford

2010 Grand Prix Shootout Launches

1 Mins read

The 2010 Grand Prix Shootout has been launched in a quest to find a driver for the future of Formula One.

This year's scheme follows the success of the 2009 campaign, with its alumni currently causing a sensation in the MSA Formula Ford Championship.

After sessions with top driving coach Rob Wilson up to ten finalists will be selected to test a Formula Ford car, the eventual winner being awarded a fully-funded season the British Formula Ford Championship (for an initial outlay of only £3,950), with the opportunity to move up to Formula Three, results depending. However, if the winner is already racing in Formula Ford then the prize will be tailored accordingly.

In taking the Formula Ford drive the eventual winners will be following in the footsteps of the class of 2009 drivers – Cypriot Tio Ellinas and Daniel Domit.

Ellinas, in his first year of car racing thanks to Grand Prix Shootout, has already attracted the attention of top teams in the sports upper echelons – having come within minutes of taking pole on his debut in the championship, a feat last achieved by a young Ayrton Senna.

Mexican Domit claimed two victories and another five podiums in the series' scholarship class, despite never having even raced a kart before, showing the opportunity that Grand Prix Shootout gives to even the most novice of young racers.

2902 posts

About author
James is our Diet-Coke fuelled writer and has been with TCF pretty much since day 1, he can be found frequenting twitter at @_JBroomhead
Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.