Formula Ford

Ellinas secures Perfect Maiden Win at Rockingham

2 Mins read

18 year old Tio Ellinas produced a perfect performance as he picked up his first ever win in the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain during Round 11 at Rockingham. He converted pole position to a dominant win, recording the fastest lap of the race and a new lap record in the process.

The JTR driver secured pole position by 0.146 seconds from Scott Pye, with Antti Buri and Dan De Zille forming row two. Championship leader Scott Malvern qualified fifth with Daniel Cammish sixth.

Ellinas made a good start as the race began, but was matched by Pye. As they entered the banked Turn One, Pye made a move for the lead, but Ellinas was able to hold him off. As they went round the first lap, Ellinas was able to break away and set about building a comfortable lead. By the end of lap one, Pye had slipped down to fourth, with Malvern working his way into second and Buri third.

This was about to change on lap two though. Getting a run along the pit straight, Buri put pressure on Malvern through turn one, before sliding past at Deene Hairpin to move into second. Malvern was to slip further back a few laps later, with Pye performing a similar move on him at Deene on lap five. This left Malvern in the clutches of Jake Cook, who had moved up from seventh on the grid to fifth.

As the race progressed, the main action was between Malvern, Cook and the two drivers behind them, Cammish and De Zille, with the four of them providing close, exciting racing.

However overshadowing them all was Ellinas out front, who crossed the line to win by nearly 4 seconds. Buri finished second, for his third podium of the year, with Pye third. Malvern just managed to fend off the challenge of Cook for fourth, crossing the line 0.7 seconds ahead of the Getem Racing youngster. Sixth place went to Cammish, just ahead of Minister International driver De Zille. Jamun Racing trio Josh Hill, Emil Bernstorff and Jeroen Slaghekke completed the top ten, with returning 2006 champion Nathan Freke, deputising for the injured Chrissy Palmer, eleventh.

In the Scholarship class, Tristan Mingay won the class, finishing 14th overall, ahead of the only other finisher in the class, newcomer Ashley Grant. The class leader coming into the round Luke Williams was forced into retirement after a spin on lap four.

Tristan Mingay took the Scholarship Class spoils at the wheel of his Ray, well clear of series newcomer Ashley Grant, to seal his fourth win of 2010. Luke Williams had qualified quickest in class but a lap four spin at Deene led to retirement and also means he slips behind Mingay in the standings.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.